How do I put my city on food focus with a controller? Also use links in civlopedia?

iammaxhailme

Emperor
I've played Civ 6 since launch, but on PC. News of the incoming expansions for Switch finally convinced me to get it here, as I've kind of wanted it all along.

Anyway I know you can use the touch screen to tap the food icon, but what if I'm playing on TV? I tried playing with a lot of buttons but couldn't manage it.

Similar question with civlopedia. For example if I'm reading a page about a civic, it'll say "unlocks these cards:" you can touch screen tap the cards to go to their page, but is there a way to do it in docked mode?

You can do that with a d-pad on Pro Controller, or the arrow buttons on joy-cons.

I am new to VI (and the Switch). Is there a consistent way to get mouse-over-style help text to display? I will see icons and no idea what they do really. For example, I figured out that the gear was explore. It sure would be nice to know that without picking the choice and then watch what happens!

I am new to VI (and the Switch). Is there a consistent way to get mouse-over-style help text to display? I will see icons and no idea what they do really. For example, I figured out that the gear was explore. It sure would be nice to know that without picking the choice and then watch what happens!

Its the minus button to show the extra info. Its really helpful. You can also check out unit promotions with it.

Its the minus button to show the extra info. Its really helpful. You can also check out unit promotions with it.
OHMYGOSHTHANKYOU!!!
Did I miss that in the tutorial? If not, how was I suppose to pick that little detail up without asking on this forum???

You can do that with a d-pad on Pro Controller, or the arrow buttons on joy-cons.