1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I remove GRUB?

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by WhiteEagle22, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. WhiteEagle22

    WhiteEagle22 Avatar of Justice

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hey all,

    How do I remove GRUB from my PC, since I'm stuck at this screen during boot-up:
    I want to use my PC, but first I need to remove GRUB.

    Thanks in advance,
    Nathan P.

    PS. Never just delete a partition containing Linux, or you'll wind up like me. ;)
     
  2. Speedo

    Speedo Esse Quam Videri

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,891
    Location:
    NC USA
    Format HDD and start over fresh?

    Honestly I'm not sure. Maybe you can get somewhere with a Knoppix boot disc.
     
  3. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    I had a similar problem with my bootloader (EDIT: Actually I think I did the exact same thing as you! i.e. erased the Linux partition!). I downloaded some program that I stuck onto a windows boot disk and ran, which allowed me to edit the MBR (master boot record) and set the active partition to the windows partition. IIRC, the BIOS will load the bootloader if and only if no partition has its "active partition" flag set. If there is an active partition, it will load the bootsector of that partition, completely ignoring the bootloader.


    DISCLAIMER: This is entirely from memory so may be wrong!
     
  4. lndm

    lndm Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    Australia
    Well, IIRC MS OSes want the partition set as active. In a dual boot system the bootloader (in the MBR) will call the DOS partition which then expects the flag to be set.

    Anyway, three options. If you are reinstalling windows, just format the lot. If you have windows and just want the bootloader gone, use the dos command [fdisk /mbr] http://support.microsoft.com/kb/69013. Thirdly you could use a Linux CD or reinstall Linux if that's what you want.
     
  5. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Unless you want to reinstall Windows, fdisk /mbr or fixmbr are your best options ( The latter can be done from Windows recovery console)
     
  6. Quintillus

    Quintillus Archiving Civ3 Content Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,462
    Location:
    Ohio
    Haha, I did the same thing and ended up with the same problem awhile back. What lndm and stickciv mentioned should fix it. If not, since you've got two partitions, you can always install Windows again on the second partition to reset the boot table to Windows' (don't worry about activation since the install is only for resetting the MBR - you don't even have to let it finish installing). Then you'll have XP's/Vista's bootloader working, with two identical Windows entries, the second of which should be the original. From there you can edit boot.ini (pre-Vista) or using EasyBCD (Vista) to eliminate the extra install from the boot menu.
     

Share This Page