1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How do we disable these notifications that cover all the screen?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by talacasto, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. talacasto

    talacasto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Hi team,

    Let me introduce on my first message: expert on Civ II, back in Civ VI.

    I am running Civ 6 on Mac OSX. I cannot follow the flow of the game with the horrible messages in front of my units. Particularly when there´s a combat with another army, all the damage points, etc are destroying the experience of the game.

    See below:



    Q:

    1) Is there any way to disable these notifications?

    2) I have sent some archers to auto explore and then I found them swimming in the ocean. Terrain units can move into water?

    Best,
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,737
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Not aware of any way to disable notifications, but as to land units embarking, at the start of the game, land units cannot enter water tiles. Once you research Sailing, Builders can embark into coastal water and lake tiles, and after you research Shipbuilding, all land units can embark. No need to build transport ships -- just order the unit to move out into the water just as you would on land. Finally, researching Cartography allows land units to enter ocean tiles.
     
  3. talacasto

    talacasto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for this reply. Looking forward for the notifications.
     
  4. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,563
    Location:
    Lucerne
    You can’t disable notifications. The new patch (not released for mac yet) has a bit less of them. You can use a higher resolution to make them much smaller. Or use a mod like CQUI.
     
  5. DanaLea

    DanaLea Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    340
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Use CQUI. It makes the notifications much smaller and less intrusive and you can specify what type of notifications you get. Also makes them less wordy. Instead of "Your lady in waiting at the ball heard such and such" You just get "Greece is building a somebuilding in somecity".

    It also has lots of other UI changes that make the game MUCH easier to interact with.
     
    iamliberal likes this.
  6. Jaundis John

    Jaundis John Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Not really 'disabling' but if you click on them they go away.


    Also people are talking about mods... I didn't know there were mods available for the Mac version of this game? More info? Thanks
     
  7. Jaundis John

    Jaundis John Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Please disregard the part about mods- found a thread dedicated to this topic. Thanks
     

Share This Page