How do you get past the bad habit of save scumming and excessive modding? I mean... mentally.

yanraabe

Chieftain
I know. "Just don't do it!" is the obvious answer. I usually start a new game with this golden rule in place, only to slowly but steadily drift away from that mindset. I KNOW that I'm "searching" for an excuse when I tell myself that, for example, "I missed the completion of this building/wonder/unit in this city by 1 shield only because I didn't spend enough time doing the math. So in order to continue playing faster, it's ok to rectify this kind of mistake."
I hate that I'm doing it, and I still can't stop myself. The worst part: Since I'm aware I hate what I keep on doing, I end up not enjoying playing the game, and so I don't play at all. I need help. At least some advice. Anyone gone through a successful "detox" and can let me know about the light at the end of the tunnel? I'm struggling.

I started playing Civ1 (yes, I'm that old!) and never stopped loving the game. Back then, saving and reloading other than when I stop playing for the day (... night) wasn't even a thought. And oh boy, do I miss those days of ignorant bliss.

Same thing goes for having too many great mods that allow me to come closer and closer to a "perfect" game setup, to the point where I don't enjoy a regular game start and setup:
After playing with Fantastical Map Script set on "many rivers, very wet, abundant resources, etc.", Terra Mirabilis and several modded City States for a long time, when I deactivate all those mods to play a "normal" game, I feel like I'm literally walking through the desert and there just is nowhere "acceptable" to settle.
Same question: any advice for how to get past this?
I used to LOVE Civ and I hate the state I'm in right now.
Any answer would be much appreciated.
Thanks.