1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How do you remove a food trade route?

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by db105, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. db105

    db105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    I made a food trade route by mistake with an enemy city (I didn't realize it was a food freight). How can I remove it, so that I'm not losing a food unit per turn?
     
  2. Prof. Garfield

    Prof. Garfield Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Ontario
    I think you can get rid of one by making 3 trade routes that give arrows instead. I think food routes are also cancelled if the city has a food shortage (it may also require an empty food box).
     
  3. Valka D'Ur

    Valka D'Ur Hosting Iron Pen in A&E Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    24,954
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
    You could always destroy the city...
     
  4. db105

    db105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Nope, it's a pet city in another continent that I use for all my trade deliveries. It would be much better for my economy to destroy my city.
     
  5. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,951
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Once a city has 3 routes, making a delivery to a city with a larger trade base than the lowest among the 3 will replace the route to that city. Thus to get rid of the route deliver to and from your city from and to cities with a lot of trade arrows.
     
  6. db105

    db105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    I have tried that, but it doesn't seem to work. I think that maybe food routes are treated differently and are not replaced...
     
  7. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,951
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I have tried it and it does work, though in my case it was between two of my own cities. Remember you have to exchange vans with a city with a higher base trade for the replacement to take effect.
     
  8. db105

    db105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks. I already finished the game, but if it happens again I'll keep it in mind. However, that means that if the food route is not a mistake you need to be careful if you keep trading with the origin city. You might lose the food route without realizing it.
     
  9. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,951
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Correct. Though there are ways to manipulate that. For example, if you know the city at the other end of your food route is the one with the least amount of base trade among your three routes, then just before delivery you pick one of the other cities that you are trading with and turn all its citizens into specialists. This would reduce its base trade and insures that its trade route will be the one that gets replaced. After delivery you put the specialists back to work.
     
  10. db105

    db105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Nice trick (as long as the city doesn't starve or lose an engineer).

    Another strange thing I have noticed: there are only 3 routes giving trade arrows for each city, right? Well, sometimes when a caravan got to my main trade city, I noticed that one of those 3 routes would get replaced by the new route even though the new route gave me less trade arrows than the one that was replaced. I guess that it might be because the new route was with a city with more base trade but, since it was mine instead of foreign, it gives me less trade arrows...
     
  11. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,951
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    That definitely happens. To protect my lucrative foreign trade routes, I make all the citizens of the sole domestic trade partner city into specialists, deliver, and then put them back.

    I have seen it happen on occasion that a domestic route replaces another domestic route and you get a lesser value as well. My unverified guess is that the culprit in this case is the distance: while the new route is to/from a city with higher trade base it is closer than the route it replaced so the per turn value is lower.
     
  12. Sir_Lancelot

    Sir_Lancelot Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Europe
    We, the Greeks, have accidentally made a food route to Egypt.

    The route goes from Sparta to Helipolis. The two cities are on the same continent but are far apart.

    Sparta: Size 24, working 19 tiles and producing 116 arrows.
    Sparta is trading with:
    Helipolis +32
    Helipolis +32
    Helipolis food -1 (This replaced a Cardiff +20 route!!!!)

    Helipolis: Size 27, working 21 tiles and producing 135 arrows.
    Helipolis is trading with:
    Athens +30
    Athens +30
    Sparta +26

    Why the food delivery replaced a highly profitable route in the first place I don't know, because I have delivered food between other cities many many times without creating a route.

    Now I have to find a way to replace the food route, but no success so far. Sparta has built a new Freight carrying coal, but delivering it to Helipolis or another big city that demands coal is not replacing the food route. (Helipolis demands coal.)

    How do I replace the food route?

    (Civ2 standard, v2.42.)
     
  13. Ali Ardavan

    Ali Ardavan Mathematician Moderator Civ2 GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,951
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Just like any other route, a food route may or may not get replaced upon delivery. It depends on whether Civ2 thinks the new route is better than the old one. In your case you have not been able to replace the route since both ends are huge cities with lots of arrows.

    Try this. Build a commodity van in Heliopolis. Find a city that wants that. Right before delivery turn all the citizens of Sparta into entertainers. Deliver the van. The route should disappear in Heliopolis.

    Getting rid of the route in Sparta is tougher since all 3 of its routes are to Heliopolis.
     

Share This Page