How fast do you expand on new continent?

bonniepbilly

Warlord
Playing Communitas map with all players on same continent. I find the new continent, not yet settled. I have access to pioneers, am playing a culture game. Save attached (10/23 version).
How good does a settlement site need to be? Do you mostly manage happiness limits or do you refuse to settlement good locations not to slow down culture/science?
Do you sacrifice some culture/science growth to secure possible strategic resources (iron for navy, coal, archeological sites..)?
Thanks.

I'm not good at CV it probably depends on how wide you are and how wide you CAN go when aiming for CV.
I find pioneers too expensive when going wide, they often end up costing more than wonders.

If I’m going CV there’s only 2 reasons I expand beyond my core cities:

1) the new spot has a strategic i truly need.

2) it has very high strategic value. Aka it’s a good spot to set up trade routes with key civs, or a possible staging area if I think war may be necessary.

but only in those cases and pretty rarely.

I almost never expand later on in the game. If I do, it's probably for a rare Strategic Resource like Uranium or for creating a staging area for a war. For these cities, I usually only build things that give production since other buildings will take a while and won't have as much time to pay off.

A cool trick is to build a settler before you unlock banking, and use gold to upgrade it to a pioneer. This can help you settle the extra city much faster.

I might expand late if I have progress, but usually not with tradition or authority.

Thanks. Is it more likely for you to expand if you play domination, for the extra unit support, and when science/culture slowdown is less detrimental (and if you have extra happiness)?

Last edited:
Thanks. Is it more likely for you to expand if you play domination, for the extra unit support, and when science/culture slowdown is less detrimental (and if you have extra happiness)?