1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How is a starting spot determined?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Kalmah, Oct 16, 2013.

  1. Kalmah

    Kalmah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    A few weeks ago I posted this thread over on Reddit asking why I didn't spawn where Krakow is and was told that the start was literally too good and that capitals don't spawn within working distance of natural wonders.

    The other day I found this thread showing a starting location with Old Faithful in working distance. So what exactly determines a starting location? The obvious reason why the Krakow location wasn't chosen was from the lack of a second luxury resource but you can argue that the locations' overall brilliance makes up for it. So if spawning next to a natural wonder isn't a criteria for start location what else is involved?

    Link to the two starts in question if anyone can't use Reddit.
     
  2. darden

    darden Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    each Civ has their own start bias (eg: Venice will always spawn on the coast, Arabia will always spawn in the desert, etc -- see http://civilization.wikia.com/wiki/Starting_bias_(Civ5) for the full list)

    I believe that there's logic within the start bias that no Civ will have their first settler spawn within 4 tiles of a natural wonder. but it looks like Poland discovered Lake Victoria and promptly plopped their second settler next to it.
     
  3. Ximixanga

    Ximixanga Enlightened Despot

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Starting bias, which every civ has, is how starting positions are determined. Beginning next to a natural wonder or two is simply luck of the draw, since they are assuredly randomly generated along with the rest of the map if it's on a script. Most starting positions also seem to have anywhere from 2-3 luxuries and a bonus resource or two to start them out from most games I've played. I am not sure whether this is intentional or not although I would not be surprised if it was.
     
  4. DudewiththeFood

    DudewiththeFood King

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Round the Corner
    The map with Brazil looks like the player has added more civs and cs than the map can handle and has given them that space because the other start locations are taken.
     
  5. jlim201

    jlim201 King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Somewhere North of the South Pole
    Desert
    Arabia
    Morocco

    Coast

    Byzantine
    Venice
    Portugal
    Spain
    Denmark
    England
    Indonesia
    Carthage
    Korea
    Polynesia
    Ottoman

    Forest

    Iroquois
    Celts

    Grassland

    Dutch
    India

    Hills

    Austria
    Inca

    Jungle

    Brazil
    Aztec

    Plains

    Mongols
    Poland

    Tundra

    Sweden
    Russia

    Avoid Forest/Jungle

    Huns
    Egypt
    Siam
    Zulu

    Avoid Tundra

    Songhai
    Assyria
    Babylon

    For example, if Swedens bias was tundra, it could be tundra with forest, hill, and other natural occurences

    Civs without start bias can start anywhere on land. (America, Persia etc)
     

Share This Page