1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How is this city spacing fun?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Takagi Hiro, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. Takagi Hiro

    Takagi Hiro Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Too many times have I tried to understand how four spaces between cities can be enjoyable, but each and every time, I find that this just makes much of the map impossible to settle. Even on large maps, city-states get in the way, awkward landmasses get in the way, and cities you can't even SEE yet get in the way. This means large swaths of useful land go unused, it makes the map look very unnatural, and it turns forward-settling into something of a nightmare. Furthermore, resources that you'd normally be able to connect and work following the old rule become unworkable given that you can no longer fit cities in tight spaces, making monopolies that grant bonuses on tiles challenging to make use of. I do not understand what is so bad about ICS and am usually prone to settling my cities very close, usually as close as I can. Can this not be considered a strategy in itself? You've got specialist slots for a reason, so use them!

    I dislike the logic that "the AI can't fight as well because it's dumb, so we're going to raise this value to four." Three spaces was perfect. Especially on maps like Fractal where continents are often snaky, higher spacing just becomes horrible to deal with. It's punishing for the player and it's even punishing for the AI, since even it can't settle where IT wants. For anyone who DOES enjoy this kind of game, could you at least enlighten me as to how you do? :confused:
     
  2. Deadstarre

    Deadstarre Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    New York
    well i'm mostly playing on Standard maps where the size spacing is still 3- so it's still perfect there =) I have however played some large maps recently and while yes it can be a pain and cost you a nice city or two, it's still very doable- you just need to adjust your strategy. the game wasn't exactly "less fun" just because of it- it represents a new challenge and difficulty in itself. why not move down a size? with map options and even customs maps you can make a nice big world on standard still.
     
  3. PurpleMentat

    PurpleMentat Videographer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Arrakis
    I enjoy it. I like to have things spread out a bit. It makes each individual city more important, to me and to the AI. It means I might just have to take a city-state or two, instead of being able to play peaceful nice-neighbor all game. Then again, I mostly play Continents, Communitas, and Oval. Fractal has never appealed to me. Too crowded, not enough land.

    I find that I need to adjust my game time to go with the world size to have everything 'feel' right. Large maps get Epic time.
     
  4. Corbeau

    Corbeau Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    I've been playing on Small maps and the spacing is still 4, and it's kind of impossible - especially for the AI.
     
  5. Takagi Hiro

    Takagi Hiro Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    I think I may be manually changing the value back down to three. This just doesn't feel right to me. I had this map where there were two city-states separated be eight spaces, making the whole area between them unable to be settled. This meant that the two large iron deposits between them were unclaimable. It's just lame.
     
  6. Deadstarre

    Deadstarre Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    New York
    are you on an old version or something? it was put back at 3 for standard and below awhile ago no?
     
  7. Corbeau

    Corbeau Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    The 11/5 release.

    e: Can map scripts affect this value?
     
  8. PurpleMentat

    PurpleMentat Videographer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Arrakis
    I think it was changed after the 11/5 release.
     
  9. Corbeau

    Corbeau Jack of All Trades

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    I downloaded the newest version, and it... mostly works. The tooltip still says 4 tiles, but (unlike before) the button is now clickable at 4 tiles distance. It's nice that the change is real, but the tooltip probably ought to be looked at.
     
  10. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,002
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    I don't think I've touched the tooltip. Wasn't aware there was one, to be honest.
    G
     
  11. Funak

    Funak Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9,127
    Pretty much the same, I don't play on larger maps so I'm not going to put any weight behind my words, but I think extra city-spacing is stupid and breaks the game :D.
    Again I let you people who actually play larger maps decide on how you want it, and I'll just stick to my standard/small maps.
     
  12. Stangle Khan

    Stangle Khan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Texas
    I like the 4 tiles. It means I don't have to settle every nook and cranny of my empire to prevent Pocatello from settling 150 cities in the cracks
     
  13. Strigvir

    Strigvir Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,299
    I am okay with 4 tiles, and I play on huge maps. The biggest offenders were City-States, but I think their range was reduced to 3 tiles?
     
  14. Takagi Hiro

    Takagi Hiro Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    At least on large maps, this is not the case, as this is what caused me to give my game the ragequit.
     
  15. sleepyx732

    sleepyx732 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    I know people are saying this was changed again, but according to the files it wasn't. It's still at 4 for large/huge maps.

    If you'd like to change it, go to;

    Documents/My Games/Sid Meier's Civilization 5/MODS/Community Patch/Core Files/Core Changes/WorldChanges.sql
     
  16. Gamewizard

    Gamewizard Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,234
    Since the change I've been playing large terra maps with 9 Civs and 18 CS. I find the city spacing to be better than 3. More room to maneuver around.
     
  17. ldvhl

    ldvhl ніщо

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,182
    I'm playing giant, and I'm fine with the current city spacing.
     
  18. Tubbilicious

    Tubbilicious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    I prefer 3, even on large maps, but whatever.
     
  19. Zanteogo

    Zanteogo King

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    765
    It's certainly 4 still, for large maps anyways.

    I'm on the fence about it. I like the fact it stops the AI from trying to get that last little piece of land between my cities breaking my nice solid empire. However, it's certainly frustrating when AI and city states just happen to be in weird spots blocking large areas of land...

    I would say keep it at 4.
     
  20. TeeInKay

    TeeInKay Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    204
    I love the city spacing, it makes my maps prettier and allows for better borders, better wars, more barbarians and basically a higher level of fun.
     

Share This Page