how is this possible?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Dushku, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. Dushku

    Dushku Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    518
    In a recent game, I went to seize a Byzantine Settler and was prompted with the ability to return it to Korea. PROOF

    Does the downshifting of Settlers to Workers not apply to inter-AI interactions?
     
  2. GenuineRisk

    GenuineRisk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Yeah, the AI can steal Settlers without having them turn into Workers.
     
  3. stormtrooper412

    stormtrooper412 Peacemongering Turtlesaur

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,579
    Location:
    Beograd
    Bogus. I would have assumed this was a Korean settler that was captured by barbarians and then captured by Theo and became a settler again. But if that can't happen, then it was obviously what GenuineRisk said
     
  4. GenuineRisk

    GenuineRisk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Yeah, that's what I meant. The AI can recover foreign Settlers from barb camps without having them turn into Workers. They did it to me once. :mad:
     
  5. WaruMonzae

    WaruMonzae Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yeah if the AI frees a barbarian settler they keep it as a settler, in my game as the Incas last night i lost my settler to a barb killing the scout escorting it, i went to clear the camp to see assyria kill it that same turn and my settler turned into a assyrian settler and i immediatly declared war on him to end up with a worker :(. So it went from my settler to barb settler to assyrian settler into my worker. Pretty wierd i must say.
     
  6. Callonia

    Callonia Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    I've found captured city state workers working for civilizations on other end of world before and returned them to their home. It can happen however the settler changing it's nationality is something I'm aware of since vanilla civ5. It's why I attempt to ruthlessly pursuit captured settlers to prevent unwanted plagues popping up.
     
  7. Eklabiaan

    Eklabiaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    The Low Countries
    If the settler is turned into a barbarian settler, will the AI use it to spawn a barbarian camp nearby? Or will it be kept as a captive in the babarian camp where it was delivered?
     
  8. Callonia

    Callonia Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    It will be kept as captive. Barbarians cannot create/capture cities in civ5 but they can ransom them for gold if city's hp is 0.
     
  9. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,309
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    The barb settler mechanic can be an ugly surprise. I remember the first burn -- I had plenty of workers, so sure, return the captive to the AI for the diplo boost. Great, now that AI has expo near me! I am okay with returning captive workers -- but settlers are a different story.

    Yes, if your city is reduced to 0 health, melee barbs will disappear attacking it and the player loses gold. But is this explicitly called “ransom” at any point?
     
  10. meatpardle

    meatpardle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    I know there's a positive affect for returning settlers/workers but there a diplomatic penalty for not returning them?

    I've always done it but Genghis didn't return one of mine yesterday so I denounced him and he's first on my hit list (I think its one of the only times I've had a settler stolen by Barbarians so not sure what the correct etiquette is).
     
  11. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,309
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    No.

    I have never had an AI or CS return one of my captured workers. I don't think it happens.

    Pretty much the only reason you should denounce is to get a small diplo boost with AIs that hate the civ you are denouncing. Denouncing encourages other denouncements, and can lower warmonger penalty -- so denouncing before a DoW is usually good too. Civ5 has disappointingly few opportunities where game mechanics actually support retribution.

    If I get a settler stolen by barbarians, I chalk the game up as a loss and reload. It is a pretty devastating game-killing event if you are playing a sufficiently challenging difficulty level.
     
  12. fimbul

    fimbul Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    As far as I can tell the AI gets to keep barb settlers since it never get the "dialogue box question".

    In fact i think humans can do this as well by saving when the box pops up and then loading the save game. The dialogue box goes away and since you never selected "downgrade to worker", the settler remains.
     
  13. meatpardle

    meatpardle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Yes it was quite a kick in the balls - to make it worse he was unguarded and I was only two tiles away when that sneaky Mongol scout snuck in.
     
  14. Callonia

    Callonia Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    This is very very difficult question for me to answer because I only had my cities' hp reduced to zero and attacked by melee barbarians once in several years of playing civ5. And that happened in the fall of rome scenario of gods n kings. I remember a text popup and saying you lost X amount of gold. 200 or 300.

    And you will go into deficit to pay this no matter what, you cannot go oh i don't' have enough gold i cannot pay sorry.

    It's very telling that barbarians in civ5 is astounding weak when it only can happen to me in fall of rome scenario and that only happens because it was a required tenet pick in decay of rome policy tree. :lol:
     

Share This Page