1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How many beakers a Great Person can actually give you by bulbing?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by 2metraninja, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    Hi guys and gals.

    I tried to search for something which is not clear to me, but I did not found good answer.

    In a MP game I am trying to evaluate how good is the price for a GP I am being offered by another player. How many beakers a Great Person can actually give you by bulbing? Anyone have exact numbers for the different GP types, map sizes and game speeds?

    I know that Astronomy can be bulbed entirely by a Great Scientist and Education can be almost bulbed, but thats more instincts and I want to try and evaluate this time more practical.

    Thanks for any info or thoughts.
     
  2. AbsoluteZero

    AbsoluteZero Deity

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Pangea
    Generally around 1100 beakers + your population bonus.

    Also depends on the type of GP. Scientists give more beakers then other GP.
     
  3. learner gamer

    learner gamer King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    I remember having to ask exactly this question a few years back. :) The answer's in Yamps' post here:

     
  4. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,825
    Location:
    Vancouver
    ^^ That's right. This is total beakers, btw - i.e. the various research bonuses don't apply. Only total population affects it. Also, if you bulb something like Philosophy, you obviously waste the extra beakers.

    It's notable that there is apparently a bug whereby Astro doesn't receive pre-req bonuses when you self-tech it, which makes it ideal for bulbing.
     
  5. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,181
    Pre-req bonuses only exist for techs connected by those lines. Astro doesn't have any at all, so it won't get pre-req bonuses. Possibly this is by design since it is a powerful tech, but that's probably giving firaxis too much credit.
     
  6. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    And how population_size is counted? Each citizen?
     
  7. babybluepants

    babybluepants Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,825
    Location:
    Vancouver
  8. Noogai

    Noogai Still Just a Settler

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Finland / HK
    I would guess its millions times hundred. For example if you have 0,5 million citizen, amount of your breakers from GS is 1500 + 3 x 0,5 x 100 = 1650.
     
  9. sadmachines

    sadmachines Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    So, if you have enough population then you can bulb education with just one GS instead of two?
     
  10. Kadazzle

    Kadazzle Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    In theory, but it's not likely that you'll have that high of a pop when you're researching/bulbing Education.
     
  11. Higher Game

    Higher Game National Socialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    GA, Amerikwa
    Hoho, just more proof that working water tiles up to the cap has a point. Viva feitoria!
     
  12. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,181
    I'd be interested to know how you've managed that crap UB while bulbing toward education...........

    Part of the problem with it is that it comes late, the other part is that it costs a lot of hammers.
     
  13. GKey

    GKey Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277
    Location:
    USA
    I've seen thread explaining how you can see trade mission value without entering target city with GM using shift (ctrl/alt ?) key. Tried several times, but it did not work. Can't find this thread now.
     
  14. iggymnrr

    iggymnrr Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,019
    Yes. Level impacts cost of education. At lower levels beakers can be lost bulbing it.
     
  15. coanda

    coanda Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,601
    On a Huge Archipelago you probably could pack in 300 or more cities, all at population 30+ thanks to Sid's Sushi; that'd give you around 10k citizens. I don't think any other map script is likely to do much better. Add in the Marathon multiplier, and I'd say a great person can potentially give you up to around 100k beakers.
     
  16. Higher Game

    Higher Game National Socialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    GA, Amerikwa
    I'm talking about the guys who grow a city to size 6ish to work the power tiles, and then set specialists before the city hits its cap.
     
  17. Clam Spammer

    Clam Spammer Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Quake City, NZ
    It's Shift. Though sometimes it doesn't work, for no apparent reason, and other times it bugs out and thinks I've let go of Shift (making the GM move, after which you can't check the mission value, which is just stupid).
     
  18. 2metraninja

    2metraninja Defender of Nabaxica

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Location:
    Plovdiv, BG
    I think he refers to the Great Merchant formula of calculating the yield of making a trade mission.

    And feitoria increases that trade_value + giving some more gold for the water tiles.
     
  19. Nick Carpathia

    Nick Carpathia Unleash the HAARP

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Romania
    When I'm on a computer with BUG mod, the trade mission value seems to always work. Without BUG mod, it seems to only work if you're standing in a foreign city. However, it sometimes only gives the trade mission value of the city you're standing in, which makes it kinda useless.

    You can sorta tell where a good target city is by zooming out, looking for the biggest and furthest city is, hopefully with a harbour (and hopefully the AI wasted hammers on a custom house). The temple of artemis is fairly distinct, it's the greco-roman looking temple with a brick red roof and a large courtyard.
     
  20. iggymnrr

    iggymnrr Deity

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,019
    Regarding best trade mission:
    Seems like somewhere in this forum someone mentioned checking for the highest valued trade route in your capitol.
     

Share This Page