1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How smart am I?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by naturalmwa, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. naturalmwa

    naturalmwa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    How can I tell where I rank in science? The only way I have been able to figure out where the AI researching it to watch for new units or new wonders being built. How do I know how much I need to empasize the tech race if i don't know where I am in the race?

    I did find the science space man on the victory screen, but that seems to only relate to the apollo program and doesn't provide insight into the competition.
     
  2. Shillen

    Shillen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,122
    Location:
    MA
    Yeah I don't think there's a way to know until that popup shows up.

    They definitely need to give us more info during the game, even if it's just something like "CivA is slightly more advanced than us" or "CivB is equally matched in military strength to us" and stuff like that.
     
  3. starang24

    starang24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    You can look up your rank in all aspects under <something> (I forget the exact name, but it is 2nd from the bottom in the list) demographics. The button is a small piece of paper in the upper left-hand corner. It is right next to the social policies button. I believe science is labeled as "literacy".
     
  4. naturalmwa

    naturalmwa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks m8, thought that just ment the amount of libraries and other science buildings in my cities. But i suppose in civ5 having the buildings and doing the research are really the same thing, still need to remind myself there are no sliders.

    Over all I love the pace of Civ5 much better then prior versions, turns speed along. But sometimes i miss all the details the older games provided. I suppose a mod will come out soon to give me the best of both.

    Thanks again for the speedy reply.
     
  5. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I can't wait for a bug mod, then a bat mod with graphics too.
     
  6. alpaca

    alpaca King of Ungulates

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,322
    If you have to ask that, probably not very :) (just kidding, the thread title kind of forced me to post that)

    On a more serious note, this is a good question. Without espionage and tech trading there's no real way to tell unless you see new units or one of those great works tells you how well you're doing. I guess you could arrive at a decent estimate by tracking AI population over the course of the game, but that means you need a spreadsheet and dump vast amounts of time into updating it, make educated guesses about AI library building tendencies, cross-check with the pop-ups and so on. In short: Nothing I'd really do when playing below deity.

    That said, looking at the number of citizens the AI has every few turns could make a lot of sense to at least get a feeling for it. The era messages supposedly help, too.
     

Share This Page