How the heck do I beat Noble?

YuriPup

Chieftain
Been trying to beat noble for a while...

I rolled back to Warlord and stomped (at least I think I did, I only scored Warren Harding, IIRC).

Anyway I am just getting creamed on Noble.

Now I do seem to be weak at fighting wars (heck I still don't have warlord or domination victories) but I turtle up well enough--on Warlord at least that Space or Cultural victories aren't a real challenge.

I am no expert myself but I noticed that in order to win wars you need to attack with very large stacks when you try to conquer cities.

First bombard the city with your siege units to decrease its defense bonus to zero.
The AI cannot retaliate yet and will not attack your stack if it is a large one.

Then attack with your siege units first.
Half of them should have city attack promotion and half should have collateral damage promotion.
You should attack first with the siege units that have collateral damage.
These are your suicide units and their main objective is to cause collateral damage and reduce the strength of as many enemy units as possible.

You then attack with the siege units that have city attack promotion.
These siege units should survive the attack.
However, you may want to attack with other strong units first.
So it is a good idea to cycle through your units and check the unit battle prediction via the ALT key.

You may lose more units than the AI but large stacks will insure victory.

It is also a good idea to use spies in enemy territory to detect weak spot for pillaging.
I always use a few cavalry units to pillage tiles behind enemy lines while my main army attacks one of the cities.

It will slow down the AI in the long run and give you an advantage.

Yuri, I suggest you go over to the Strategy and Tips forum and look at some of the articles and sample games.