1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How To Add Leaderheads

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Synsensa, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    I've looked at the database of the tutorial/guide in this forum, with no sign of a real good 'How to Add Leaderheads' tutorial. So I have decided to post one.

    To have a start, let's use this leaderhead as an example:


    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=159873
    Added Note: Nice work Aaglo ;)

    Step Number One:

    First, download the leaderhead, and open it up. You'll be seeing at most likely an ART folder.

    Step Number Two:

    Open up that ART folder, and you'll probably be greeted with these folders: Advisers, Civilopedia, Unit (This is if the leaderhead provides a king unit), Leaderhead, Flics

    Step Number Three:

    Let's start with the advisers folder, open up the advisers folder in your mod's folder, and copy paste the adviser file into the mod's adviser folder.

    Step Number Four:

    Do the exact same thing with all the other folders, put all the files in the folder they specify.

    Step Number Five:

    For the civilopedia and pedia icons, go into the text file: Pedia Icons, then scroll down to Race Start, add a line to it, and follow the example of the other lines you see. Make sure you make no typos. Then under that section, there will be Happy Faces, insert the happy face pcx of the leaderhead you selected. Continue to do so with the other leaderhead sections, and make sure you make no typos etc. For the civilopedia, go to the civilization area, follow the example of the other civilizations, but edit the text so that it fits your civ.

    Step Number Six:

    After you have done all this, open up the editor, open up your mod's file, and go to Civilizations. At the bottom left, you will see the Ancient Age, Medieval Age, Industrial Age, and Modern Age. Below that, you will see Forward Filename and Reverse Filename. For each age, put in the right FLICs for each one. For example, ancient age has Art/flics/blah_anc1 and Art/flics/blah_anc2, for the forward filename, put in the one with the lowest/no number, and the reverse with the higher one. After that, you will have to edit your civilization's stats etc. Then, you must add that civ entry to the civilopedia, which is located by the bottom, for a test to see if your civ is actually working, put RACE_Celts or some other default civ. Then, open up the game, and see if it works :)

    Step Number Seven:

    Enjoy it :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2017
  2. Heptadelphoi

    Heptadelphoi 7 brothers

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Crown of Spains
    It's useful for me d.highland, thanks for help me. :)
     
  3. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Your welcome Hepta, you were the person who requested it in the first place :p
     
  4. polyphemus

    polyphemus join the long blue line

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    At the Air Force Academy
    I added this to my library. Good work!
     
  5. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Thanks :)

    10chars
     
  6. polyphemus

    polyphemus join the long blue line

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,202
    Location:
    At the Air Force Academy
    your welcome
     
  7. feldmarshall

    feldmarshall Dictator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    387
  8. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    D.Highland...great tutorial, however, there is a wording that Id recommend changing...

    if you read them specifically, you end up with:
    Art/Leaderheads/Leaderheads...

    in step 4 you should say put the FILES, not the FOLDER...I knew what you meant, but I also see how newbies could get confused....
     
  9. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Reworded, is it better?
     
  10. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
  11. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Oh, just to tell you, you no longer have to work on those buildings I requested, Nomad Colonies took a deep fall.
     
  12. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    aw bummer...I have 3 or 4 fairly close to done, Ive just had no time to work...
     
  13. Gen. Rommel

    Gen. Rommel Wüstenfuchs

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Krefeld, Germany
    Just wanted to say that you forgot to add the "Arts/Flics/" part before the (enter leader head flic file name here) and the ".flc" at the end. I felt it was important to note that because I was trying to get the Ho Chi Minh LH working and had problems until I compared them to the default game civs which had that. Might want to edit that into the top post for n00bs who get confused easily (like me). Other than that, thanks for the informative tutorial! :goodjob:
     
  14. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Ahh, I knew I was forgetting something in it, thanks for pointing it out.

    Glad I could help ;):goodjob:
     
  15. Gen. Rommel

    Gen. Rommel Wüstenfuchs

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Krefeld, Germany
    The "flc." designation is still missing from the first post. ;)

    But the real reason I'm posting is because I'm having problems with my new Vietnamese civ. Specifically, I can't seem to get the civolepdia entry working. I can't seem to get the picture of the leader up in the civilopedia nor in the foreign advisor screen.

    The same goes for the Vietnamese "NVA Regular" UU I made for Vietnam. No civilopedia entry.

    Any tips on how to get it working properly? I have no clue what I still have to do.

    EDIT: Man, how typical?! Just when you think you've found the problem, the means with which you expect to solve it turns out to be worse than the prior problem. Just so you aren't all confused what the hell I'm talking about, I believed to have found the problem when I saw that I hadn't added Vietnam to the "#START CIVILOPEDIA ART" section in the PediaIcon.txt file (pretty n00bish, I know). Upon fixing that minor fallicy, I saved it as a Unicode .txt file (the way it was before as well) and happily started up my game intending to reap the fruits of my labour. However, when I tried to start up a standard game, I got this screen. For those not as skilled in the arts of German (which is probable), it basically says:

    FAILURE, CANNOT READ FILE
    Missing entree in "text/PediaIcons.txt": ICON_BLDG_Palace

    The funny thing is, I didn't even touch that entree. I also checked if it was still there and it was just fine. I feel I may have screwed something up during the save but I can't say I know what. I had saved over that ".txt" file before and it still worked fine. I'm desperate now!
     
  16. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    I added the flics part to first post.

    As for what your problem is, it's with the pedia icons, Plotinus can give you a detailed tutorial on that, since not even I know how to add the pedia icons to game yet :shifty:
     
  17. god_money

    god_money Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Jamestown, NY.
    I recently added Peter in place of Catherine using this guide, but found upon attempting to load my mod the game crashes.

    Clueless as to what to do aside from putting Catherine back in.
     
  18. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    A screenshot would help :)
     
  19. god_money

    god_money Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Jamestown, NY.
    I've already deleted the leaderhead in attempts to save my mod (no back-up, silly I know).

    It was an "Civ3.exe has caused an error in (unknown)" before the game part of the game fully loaded.

    I'm not blaming you at all - if it was the leaderhead it would be fine now. So who knows!?

    I'll be troubleshooting all day.
     
  20. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22,441
    Hmm, defiantly not leaderhead problem, something else.
     

Share This Page