How to defend against a colonial war

TheMadTitan

Chieftain
I need someones help and fast

Im new to civilisation as a whole, pity i didn't discover it earlier

I've been building my city for a while now, but haven't been able to keep up, spain is two technological eras ahead of me and her armies have declared war on me

I need tips and advice how to defend with just Calvary and crossbowman, if i dont do something now her armies will destroy my base, any tips?

The AI is notoriously poor at invasion stretegy. Keep building units, and keep them out of range of the AI, and you should be able to pick them off one by one. Beat that first invasion rush, and you're fine. They never send a second army behind the first assault.

I forgot to mention that this also ends up leaving you with a larger army by the end of the war, discouraging them from ininvadi you again any time soon.

Im playing at prince difficulty, i suppose the mistake was not growing my city quickly enough, ill keep spamming those units then

If you're two eras behind the AI, and a poor one like Spain, on prince difficulty, you're doing something terribly wrong. If you provide more details, perhaps we will be able to help improve your strategy. You keep mentioning "your city" - do you have only one? In Civ VI you need to play "wide", that is have as many cities as possible.

If you're two eras behind the AI, and a poor one like Spain, on prince difficulty, you're doing something terribly wrong. If you provide more details, perhaps we will be able to help improve your strategy. You keep mentioning "your city" - do you have only one? In Civ VI you need to play "wide", that is have as many cities as possible.

Ay, its my first game mate, obviously i made a mistake of not researching quickly enough even though im going as fast as possible, i suspected it could have something to do with my production, could you explain to me how that works?