1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How to defend your afriendly city state from AI attack, without diplo consequences

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Alexfrog, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. Alexfrog

    Alexfrog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Seattle
    In a recent game one of the AIs went to war with a couple of my friendly/allied city states. But I didnt want to go to war with that AI.

    I was able to easily defend the city state by getting a couple units there first and merely making a wall with them in front of the city state. The AI melee units couldnt easily attack the city, they had to go around me, suffering fire from the city state each turn, and then when they got to the back of the city to attack it they were weak.

    A couple of my units guarding the front side of a city state was enough to enable the city state to defend itself from attacks of 6-7 units, and the city state had a mere 1 unit for itself, garrisoned in the city.
     
  2. Trickster7135

    Trickster7135 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    954, Florida
    If you have the troops to spare, why bother? Just attack the invaders, gain a fat ally bonus from the city-state, and use that skirmish to quickly conquer a few border cities, then call it a day with a peace treaty. Hmm, kinda like real life...
     
  3. Alexfrog

    Alexfrog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Seattle
    This was about how to do it without attackign the AI civ. For example, maybe you have ongoing trade agreements and research agreements with them, and a small military. Dont want to declare war on them in that situation.
     
  4. chongli

    chongli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    I think you're missing the point a little bit. One of the main reasons city states were added to the game is to stir the diplomatic pot. They force you to make a tough decision: which relationship is more important to you - the city state or the rival civ?

    If you can circumvent this situation, I find that very disappointing. I hope in the future they will patch it so that the other civ can demand that your units move out of the way.
     
  5. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Madrid
    You can ask the civ to stop attacking the city state. If he doesn't want to, than it is clear you to have either attacking him, or let him attack.

    Sounds both logical and fun to me.
     
  6. chongli

    chongli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    That's not what he's doing here. He's effectively making a blockade to keep the other civ away from their enemy and the other civ is not getting angry about this.
     
  7. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Madrid
    If he just wants it to not be destroyed...
    But that won't count like helping the city state, although you are.
     
  8. chongli

    chongli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    It's basically an exploit.
     
  9. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Madrid
    I don't see it that way. The other day I was watching a tv episode, and a guy that was beeing pursued by the police, entered another countries consulate. The consulate was protecting him, while not at war with the country they are in.
    The police couldnt catch the guy without declaring war to the consulates country.

    In wars its the same. You can protect somebody with your army without declaring war. So if the other wants to destroy him, he has to declare war on you.

    Looks like a mechanic and not an exploit
     
  10. Cyberian

    Cyberian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Something to do your those scouts in mid-game. Camp near my allied Civs cities.
     
  11. goodolarchie

    goodolarchie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Human-shielding is pretty lame and can be done anywhere, not just to block aggressive city-state takeovers. Case in point: open borders and go Night-the-Roxbury-dancing on their workers/military. I hope they fix it.
     
  12. kaltorak

    kaltorak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Madrid
    What would you do if another civ did that to you? Declare war.

    Maybe the AI isn't programmed to do it, and then it would be an exploit. But if it can recognize your units are hindering them even at peace, they could give a warning telling you to retreat, and if not, declare war.

    That would seem better to me than trying to fix it other way.
     
  13. zac007

    zac007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I had the same situation, all I did was pull up the diplomacy screen for the AI and politely asked him to make peace, he said no problem anything for you. Then he immediately made peace, no coersion or anything. Seems in Civ V if you are at good terms with a civ they will do more for you.
     
  14. WuphonsReach

    WuphonsReach Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    It's one of the flaws with the 1 unit per tile design. Unless you massively increase the number of tiles (cities 10 tiles apart instead of only 5, for instance), blocking tactics become easy.

    Not sure what sort of fix this will require. Possibly we'll see more of a "only can put N points worth on a tile", or "enemy units that you're not at war with can coexist", or "workers can coexist with military units on the same tile". So instead of a hard "1 per tile" rule, we'll see the 1UPT only taking effect in combination where it makes sense.
     
  15. WuphonsReach

    WuphonsReach Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    It's one of the flaws with the 1 unit per tile design. Unless you massively increase the number of tiles (cities 10 tiles apart instead of only 5, for instance), blocking tactics become easy.

    Not sure what sort of fix this will require. Possibly we'll see more of a "only can put N points worth on a tile", or "enemy units that you're not at war with can coexist", or "workers can coexist with military units on the same tile". So instead of a hard "1 per tile" rule, we'll see the 1UPT only taking effect in combination where it makes sense.
     
  16. Mannu

    Mannu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    That's cheese.

    I asked a friendly civ that attacked one of my city states to make peace with them. He did for free.

    He later attacked again and now he won't consider peace at all. I'm going to have to teach him a lesson. That's well designed fun, not cheese.
     
  17. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,145
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes, it's an exploit created by 1up. You can choose to use it or not. (just like some that reload to get better hut results or better starting land)
    I put a couple of units next to the CS but for a different reason. I actually want the AI to conquer the CS, so I can liberate it. (with the city defense at 50% and no bombardment, it's quite easy) and then they're your friend for a couple hundred turns for free.
     
  18. Bluetooth

    Bluetooth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Sweden
    It's definitely not an exploit, that's how it works with 1UPT and Zone of Control. Blocking units will certainly be a part of my military strategy. In Civ 2 I used Zone of Control to block narrow parts of a map for example.
     
  19. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,145
    Location:
    Chicago
    If you surround your neighbors first city with enough units, they can't get a settler out. You wouldn't see that as an exploit?
     
  20. Bluetooth

    Bluetooth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Sweden
    In theory yes, but you don't know what they are building in their cities so it won't happen.
     

Share This Page