How to ensure 'continents plus' games are competitive?

Pilsener Grease

Chieftain
This is my first time posting -- apologies if this question has been asked before.

I tend to play mostly on 'continents plus' and I frequently find that by the time I've discovered the other continent, one of the civs on that continent has already gobbled up all its neighbours and is pretty well unbeatable. Which particular civs should I exclude from my games to prevent this from happening? More specifically:

a) Which civs are guaranteed to gobble up their neighbours if left unchecked?
b) Which civs are generally unable to prevent themselves from being gobbled up by a neighbour?

It's pretty hard to generalize as each game is different and the situations that lead to mass warfare and total conquest are variable.

However, there a few Civ's that I notice will almost always have expansionary aim either in terms of city spaming or conquest.

Shaka - Without a doubt a pain in everyone's side whenever he's in the game. If he has taken over his entire continent he is often behind in tech so it's possible you can conquer him or make him irrelevant via some other CV.

Alexander - He loves spamming cities, and his CS's bonuses make him strong at about anything so he's a threat to everyone.

Hiawatha - He also spams cities, but whether or not he acts aggressively is up to each game.

Realistically any Civ can do a total continent takeover. The only ones I see rarely doing it are Ghandi, the Swedes, Korea, Egypt, and France.

This is way too broad of a question. Any civ has the possibility, but maybe a few more likely than others.

Shake is a likely candidate, I have also had France do it before, Germany, Hiawatha. Really any civ that has a high expansion flavor would be a good candidate for this.

I make 'continents plus' games competitive by not playing on them and playing on pangaea maps instead.