deleted

I'm seeing all these screen shots of people pulling off a one city science deity victory and all of their one cities had population 30+ while I'm struggling to keep it over 10.

The only time I ALMOST hit 30 pop was by going religion on prince difficulty and grabbing the feed the world and gudwara beliefs. But if you read what these guys did, they all ditched religion completely so....

What am I missing?
I'm curious as well. There's the obvious, use Owls with Portugal to max out your trade routes and wet them to max food, build as many farms as possible. I've not really tried it, but it seems very difficult to pull off and get a stable population. Amenities would be a problem as well.

I'm no expert on OCC, but the keys to grow large are food/housing/amenities.

In terms of housing, the simplest ways are base housing (5 on fresh water) + 2 (granary) + 3 (improvements) + 2 (sewer) + 1 (barracks) + 1 (university) + 4 (audience chamber) = 18 by the mid-game, not even counting neighbourhoods, Temple of Artemis or other sources like that.

Amenities can be a challenge too, but with only 1 city, it's actually not too hard. Between the Audience Chamber, the entertainment complex buildings, and lux you find around and from CS, and possibly even more if you have a nice Temple of Artemis spot, the couple times I've tried a OCC I've generally been swimming in them.