How to get Civ4:BTS working on El Capitan and Sierra

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Macintosh' started by Xyth, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Mistoltin

    Mistoltin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Does anyone know if this method also works for Mojave?
     
  2. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,069
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    It does.
     
  3. bay23

    bay23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Can confirm, just did it again. I was getting panic attacks about losing Civ IV forever.
     
  4. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,069
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    May become reality in whatever comes after Mojave, as it's meant tol be dropping support for 32 bit apps.
     
  5. eligs

    eligs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the hints and the Patch.
    Since I did not want to jeopardize my system integrity (by disabling SIP to alter the contents of the /System/Library directory) just to play an old game, I decided to install the missing framework files into /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/ and to patch the hardcoded path in the Civilization IV executable.
    I used a hex-editor ("0xED") to locate the string and change it (there are 2 occurences, overwrite the old string and zero-terminate it, leave the remaining part of the old string in place, do not shorten the file!). It works like a charm.
     
  6. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,069
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    SIP is only disabled for the duration of installing the missing Python files, so this feels a bit excessive, but if it works it works!

    EDIT: This method could have the advantage of not needing to reinstall this fix every major update. Not sure if the /Library/ location gets wiped of changes like /System/Library does.
     
  7. eligs

    eligs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Yep, I got that. Temporarily disabled to put some files - which were provided by "some dude on the internet" - to /System/Libraries ... (what could possibly go wrong?) ;)
    I just wanted to keep that directory "vanilla" :) by patching the executable and placing the files in a less privileged directory.
    So at least this demonstrates that a less invasive (regarding SIP) possibility exists - even if one needs to poke around with a hex editor. (Another bonus: No reboot required).
    It also works for Warlords and BTS btw.

    Edit: Good point regarding persistence. I just performed a major update a week ago and there is still some stuff in /Library/Frameworks (e.g. OSXFUSE) which was installed before the update. So it seems, it could survive there...
     
  8. Guyric

    Guyric Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Step 1:

    Download the necessary files from here. Unpack them. You should have a folder called 'BTS El Capitan Python Fix'.



    The link goes to no page, do you still have the necessary files available?
     
  9. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,069
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I've uploaded and attached them to the first post of this thread. Likewise for the Yosemite+ version in that thread.
     
  10. Guyric

    Guyric Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    You
    You
    are awesome, thank you
     

Share This Page