1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How To: Make Leaderheads! Ekmek's Guide

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by Ekmek, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    EDIT: NOW UPDATED!

    attached is my guide that will take you from Blender through Nifskope and has Wolfshanze's XML guide. Please give it a shot and tell me if something is vague or unclear. Start with these downloads:

    Spoiler :

    DOWNLOADS
    To get blender to work with Civ files you need to download these programs and install in THIS SEQUENCE. Downloads for 32-bit windows and tested on Vista.
    1. PYTHON 2.6.2 (32 BIT WINDOWS)
    http://python.org/ftp/python/2.6.2/python-2.6.2.msi
    2. BLENDER 2.49a ( FOR 32-BIT WIN)
    http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49a/blender-2.49a-avifix-windows.exe
    3. PyFFI-py2.6-2.0.1-windows
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/pyffi/files/pyffi/2.0.1/PyFFI-py2.6-2.0.1-windows.exe/download
    4. Blender 2.4.10 NIFSCRIPTS
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/nif...ender_nif_scripts-2.4.10-windows.exe/download
    5. NIFSKOPE
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/niftools/files/nifskope/1.0.9/nifskope-1.0.9-windows.exe/download


    6. [OPTIONAL] my leaderhead parts might be useful too
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?p=7319650#post7319650

    Click HERE to Download my Guide

    For questions please post your blend and if successful latest nif. If for some reason I don't get back to you I'm sure you can contact these other fine LH makers:


    LEADERHEAD ACADEMY GRADUATES
    The Capo
    IgorS
    cfkane (but I think he figured it on his own)
    Flintlock1415
    Deon
    Methyl Orange
    cool3a2
    veBear
    Texpatriate
    mechaerik
    nitram15
    Cybrxkahn
    Den9510
    pencilgod
    charlie88
    techathon
    Farsight
    manifold
    coffee junkie

    LEADERAHEAD ACADEMY STUDENTS
    Huyana Capac357
    Vortilex
    Gizmo Uberforce
     
  2. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    Very cool ! Ekmek, if you need accessories like crown or something, I will gladly do half a dozen for you to get paid back. I cannot do entire leaderheads because it's unmanageable om my comp but parts are ok if they are already separated. Blender/Nifskope Combo is so awesome, man.

    hmmm, I think there's something I can tell you :

    In UAV Face select you can shift click to select face according to the texture. When done, press delete key and choose remove faces (it will preserve vertices that are needed for unselected faces). I call this way BFD for blender face deletion process.
     
  3. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Awesome,

    My experience has been limited to NifSkope and I only recently began expirimenting with Blender, good stuff.
     
  4. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Roland's tut i sbest for nifskope:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=183742

    but what you need to do is have it so when you click on a nif it opens directly to nifskope (this should be standard when you install nifskope)

    so click on the blender export nif i.e. lincoln_x.nif
    then click on the original that you copied to your new lh folder - lincoln.nif
    now you have two nifskopes open
    click on the body in the original nif and see what ninode in the tree on the left the trishape is in
    now click on your new lincoln and right-click copybranch on your new trishape
    go to the original lincoln and right click on the nidode and paste the branch
    right-click on the original bosy and right-click remove the branch
    if you added new stuff like a hat just keep copying the branch and pasting it in the original ninode
    that should do it!

    @snipper
    thanks. I'll check out your method too!
     
  5. Gurra09

    Gurra09 Guru of Hekkia

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    I must be stupid, didn't understand anything except for how to download... :blush:


    Gurra09
     
  6. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    I can walk you through it - where do you want to start? maybe I should move the starting up part ahead of the setting up scripts and orient you to the interface
     
  7. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    i'm stuck on page 4 :p

    Spoiler :


    As you see, i don't have the other 3 square thing's like you have in picture 1 and when i click the 1 square i have, i don't see the "NetImmerse/GameBryo" option. Maybe i didn't install things right?
     
  8. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    did you install the nifscripts? I cant help at the moment but this link might help out:

    http://niftools.sourceforge.net/wiki/Blender/Configuration

    EDIT: the nifscripts is an exe that you have to run did you do that? are you using blender 2.43 (what the guide is based on)or 2.45 (newer version that i havent used)
     
  9. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    hiya. your tutorial came at the right time. I'm using it right now. I'm an autoCAD guy and am new to gaming 3D.
     
  10. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  11. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    page 4 doesnot have enough detail...until i update to 1.1 follow this

    -Install blender first
    -install the nifscripts into the same directory
    when blender starts you need to
    -Run the import and export script at least once to register the scripts in Blender's configuration system:
    File -> Import -> NIF -> Cancel.
    File -> Export -> NIF -> Cancel.

    Thanks to TheLastone36
     
  12. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    Sounds interesting Ek, I'll go over it later and scan for errors. ;) (;))

    Bah I can't hold it in, great job. :thumbsup:

    Very neat and pristine, I'll try to add more if I can.
     
  13. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    ok i havent seen this till now. i will download it and worship you :worship:
     
  14. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    post any questions so i can refine it. hopefully this helps in my quest to have more people do LHs instead of just requesting them :)
     
  15. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    I hate it when people request stuff.... :p
     
  16. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    I don't hate it...I just wish we had more creators. I still request my YF-23 bytheway :p
     
  17. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    I never said I'd make it. :p ;)
     
  18. cool3a2

    cool3a2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,177
    Hey Ekmek. I tried to fix that Istvan LH again. I had a lokk at your guide. What should I say? My blender is looking different (editing the nif scripts part) and after importing the LH I can't do any changes to the nif. I can't switch to edit mode... I tried it with original files from civ4, too, no chance. I use Blender 2.45, don't know if this could be the problem... Otherwise it seems to me that I am too stupid for that... I think I give it up...

    EDIT: I've just recognized that TheLastOne36 has the same difference in the nif script preferences...
     
  19. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    i cant help with 2.45. i provided links for 2.43. in my first post i updated the nifscript problem
     
  20. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    Spoiler :
    for me Blender stops on page 4. Is this the end of the line ? Or should I have NifSkope installed before Blender looks the same as Blender in the tutorial ?
     

Share This Page