1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Play Civ VI on your Phone

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by crackajaxmax, Apr 19, 2018.

  1. crackajaxmax

    crackajaxmax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey guys, long time lurker and first time poster. I just posted this same thread in r/civ so I'm gonna shamelessly copy and paste most of it. Basically, this is a tutorial on how to play civ on your phone via remote access to a desktop similar to tutorials posted on here in the past. However, I hadn't seen anyone discussing this even remotely recently or specifically for Civ VI so I thought it worthy of re-posting.


    A quick search for "How to play civ on your phone" found a couple old posts from a few years ago using the same method to play Civ V on mobile, but it sounds like it didn't work very well back then because of technological limitations and other shortcomings. Nonetheless, I thought I'd link to them anyway to give them credit for posting about this method before I rediscovered it: https://www.reddit.com/r/civ/comments/2peexo/how_to_civ5_on_android_using_chrome_remote_desktop/

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/playing-civ-v-on-your-android.545853/

    If you didn't click on those links, this method uses an app called Chrome Remote Desktop. By installing it on your PC and your phone, you are able to play Civ VI (or any game you want, really) remotely from your phone if your PC is turned on and connected to the internet. I made a video tutorial detailing it,
    but if you're even remotely tech-savvy you shouldn't need help figuring it out. (If you didn't watch the video and set it up yourself and are having problems, try running the game in windowed mode).

    To clarify, this method works a lot better in 2018 than it seems to have for the OP's above trying it back in 2015. I assume this is partly because cellular data has become more reliable and because cell phone screens have gotten larger; whatever it is, something must have changed because I've been playing Civ VI on my Pixel 2 XL for the past couple days and it's been running flawlessly. The only real drawback is the one I alluded to earlier; because this is a remote connection rather than a standalone mobile version of the game, it does require that your phone have an internet connection to your PC which is powered on and running the game in order for this to work. If you can live with leaving your rig running at home while you're gone, you can play Civ wherever your phone has a signal. A bit of a trade-off, but hey, it's a full Civ game on mobile. I'll take it over Civ Rev 2.
     
    ezzlar, Civrinn and Noble Zarkon like this.
  2. criZp

    criZp Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,798
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway
    yeah I'm sure civ plays great with touch controls on phone screens
     
  3. Onii-chan

    Onii-chan King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    604
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Regardless of whether it's technically doable or not... why would you want to do this
     
  4. The googles do nothing

    The googles do nothing Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    For the era score
     
    racha likes this.

Share This Page