1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[HOW TO] Play DLC Civilizations in LAN multiplayer

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by TheManFromMars, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. TheManFromMars

    TheManFromMars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Hello there.
    I don't know how well known this is but I'm posting it since I haven't noticed anyone else mention it.

    This is just a simple 'novice friendly' guide to getting Downloadable Content Civs, Deluxe Edition civs etc working in LAN multiplayer. Of course it also allows for Mod-made civs (just follow the instructions in the below linked thread) which was the original intention of the hack.

    INSTRUCTIONS:
    Download Blazekid87's attachment from This thread

    Backup your files in:
    C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\Common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\UI\FrontEnd\Multiplayer

    (64-bit OS would be 'Program Files (x86)' and you might have installed on another drive of course like D:\, so just use common sense.)

    Then place the files from the downloaded attachment into:
    C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\Common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\UI\FrontEnd\Multiplayer
    Overwriting the existing LUA files in there (which is why you've backed them up)

    And that is it!
    Now when you load your Civ game if you have bought any DLC or downloaded the free Mongol pack or bought the Deluxe Edition you can now play these new Civilizations in a LAN game against friends/family etc.

    ---------NOTE------------
    I don't think Blazekid87 knew about this (or anyone else for that matter) and I only stumbled across it by accident when trying to get DLC civs working in multiplayer games. I thought I'd use his/her hack as a workaround and to my surprise found that the DLC civs just 'appeared' without having to do anything else. This was both surprisng and exciting, especially since the tool didn't seem intended for this purpose and was made prior to DLC launch (I think.) All credit of course goes to Blazekid87, I'm just passing on what I found out and giving a novice friendly guide to getting the DLC working in multiplayer. I hope this was helpful and that I'm not just repeating something people already knew about. Enjoy!
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29,859
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    I know, i know, exciting new discovery, and i appreciate it :goodjob:, but one thread is enough for it ;).
    Moderator Action: Threads merged, moved to Tutorials and References, and left a permalink in Civ5 GD.
     
  3. TheManFromMars

    TheManFromMars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    No, no thankyou! The_J - I had no idea which thread to post this on and ended up (without actually meaning too) double or triple posting - i had meant to cancel one of them but i think it posted anyway. So no worries. One thread is certainly enough :)
     
  4. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,124
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    And now we don't need this awesome discovery, as DLC civs are being enabled for multiplayer in the next patch :D
     
  5. TheManFromMars

    TheManFromMars Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    :) When did this news come out? lol I feel stupid now for mentioning it - luckily it's not like a lot of effort went into it, it was an accident. When is the next patch coming out btw? Shame no one (including myself) noticed this earlier as it's been possible since the LUA hack was made back in October. Anyway, either way, it's great news to hear, glad to see they are still supporting things.

    Could you post a link to the article you read this on btw so I can view it, can't find the info anywhere and am quite interested to know what is in the patch. Cheers.

    By the way, thumbs up to your signature. People are ringing their hands like some of the probs are something news, it's every new game (especially PC) and was inflicted on the last (apparently now deified) Civ IV as well. Games have problems, it's why games have patches. I happen to also like the new changes, and think it is more deep and engaging than Civ4 which was basically just a 'click fest' of 'amass units... amass more units, and... send!' And people are talking about 60 bucks like Firaxis just stole their home. I don't know, rant over, off topic, etc.

    Thanks for the updated news.
     
  6. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,124
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    It was just announced today, after you posted. The next patch is scheduled for a February release
     
  7. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,554
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    :D

    Strangely, i DO play a lot of LAN driven games... but i use a similar "indirect" capacity to Hot_Seat two daughters via some custom ISP assets.
    Go to your rooms and stop begging for the "New passwords", the patch is only this week - for God sakes.
    ;)
     
  8. Toocoolo

    Toocoolo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Has the newest patches fixed this in the end? Can I finally play MP thru LAN with DLC civs like Spain, against my wife? Or should I still check out this hack?

    thanks!
     

Share This Page