1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How to play online multiplayer in 2016?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by TC01, Aug 26, 2016.

1. TC01

TC01 Chieftain

So, I have a friend IRL who I learned relatively recently also likes FFH2, and so for the first time in... uh, forever? I've been looking into how to play multiplayer. As I have very little experience playing MP in Civ 4 (it's the first time in many years since I have played a MP game, and back then I would only ever play LAN and Hotseat games), I've gotten a little confused at the current state of things and was hoping someone might be able to help.

Until recently we were able to play LAN games occasionally, but now we're no longer geographically close enough for that.

How are people who play multiplayer FFH2 (+MNAI) doing it in this day and age, if anyone is? Back in the day I seem to remember people would use services like Hamachi to set up their games, but it seems like that might no longer be a thing? Is running a Pitboss server a possibility instead?

Possibly complicating matters, while I have both the Steam and non-Steam copy of BTS, he only has the Steam copy of BTS.

I could, potentially, forward the ports for Civ 4 to my desktop and we could try a direct IP game, but I have no idea if that will work.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

2. Terkhen

Terkhen Chieftain