1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Upload Save Games and Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Succession Games' started by cromagnon, Jun 4, 2003.

  1. cromagnon

    cromagnon Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    NY, NY
    This question has come up several times during my 6 months here, so I thought a thorough step-by-step guide may be in order for those new to the SG forum. If Chieftess or Padma would sticky this, it may come in handy in the future.

    How to upload a save game or screenshot in 10 easy steps:

    Make sure your game file is saved as a *****.SAV or ****.zip file, and that your screenshots are *****.jpg files. Typical Succession Game files are named with the initials of the creator followed by a number, and then the Year of the save (e.g. 1200BC).

    1. At the bottom of any Civfanatics page, click on the Upload File link, which will bring up a pop-up.





    2. Click on the Browse or Choose buttons to find the files (up to 3) you want to upload. Then click the Upload button.





    3. You will then see a Confirmation of your upload. Wait 10 seconds, then click on the "View List of Uploaded files in the Uploads4 folder (new!)." (as each folder is filled, Thunderfall creates a new folder, so the number will change).





    4. The screen will change to the Index of Uploads. All uploaded files are listed in case-sensitive alphabetical order. This means that "bad.SAV" comes after "Zulu.SAV" Scroll to where your files are listed, and then right-click on the file. Choose "Copy Shortcut," or "Copy Link Address."





    5. Reply to the last post in your Succession Game thread. At the end of your post, click on the "http://" button.





    6. This will bring a pop-up. First, type the text you want displayed for the link, something like "The Save" and press Enter.



    7. Next, right-click the space for the URL, and Paste the address and click OK. This will put the URL tags in your message for you.





    8. When you finish your message, hit Submit Reply, and your post will look something like this.





    9. To post a screenshot, copy the link to your ****.jpg file from the Uploads4 folder just as in step 4.



    10. In the text of your message, click on the IMG button, and paste the address of the jpg file where it asks you for it.





    This places the IMG tags around the address for you. Note that screenshots are almost always larger than a standard monitor display, which will bring up the need for scrolling right. If your screenshot is in the same post as your text, the text will be extended off the screen as well. To save your readers some hassle, place your large screenshots in a separate post from your text.


    Good luck, and happy posting!
     
  2. amirsan

    amirsan King of all Kings

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    6,530
    Location:
    NYC to Connectcut...
  3. amirsan

    amirsan King of all Kings

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    6,530
    Location:
    NYC to Connectcut...
  4. Volum

    Volum The Zapper

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,885
    Location:
    Norwegen
    Thank you very much cromagnon. This will help me a lot.
    All i can do is :worshp:

    Thank you

    Regards

    -Volum

    :goodjob:
     
  5. Yom

    Yom Re-ese Mekwanint

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,551
    Location:
    Axum
    I've had this problem too, this is really helpful. Thanks a lot :D
     
  6. Shevek

    Shevek Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Berlin
    Thanks a lot Cromagnon.

    You've done a great service to Civkind.
     
  7. Puzzlinon

    Puzzlinon Insomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    A quick reminder, just because I've been forgetting and getting annoyed with long pauses....

    If you do the prt-scrn/paste rigamarole to capture screen shots and then alt-tab back and forth into Paint to paste them...

    If you clear the big screen dump out of the paste buffer (in Paint, just select a wee patch and say Copy before you go back to the game) your system might perform much better. Big screen images in paste buffers can be a real burden to windoze.
     
  8. Ankka

    Ankka Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,299
    This info thread is great! :goodjob: Thanks so much!:D
     
  9. Goober

    Goober Turning Right ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,143
    Location:
    Victoria, BC, CANADA!!!
    Ok, NOW I understand how to post Save and Screenshots. Thanks a bunch!!
     
  10. Point13

    Point13 Like a ton of bricks!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    helpful but i can't find the screens after i press print scrn...
     
  11. silver 2039

    silver 2039 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16,208
    Press control-v
     
  12. Point13

    Point13 Like a ton of bricks!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    thanks silver, did u add me to YUMBO?
     
  13. silver 2039

    silver 2039 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16,208
    You need to Pm The_ Inforcer and tell him. Also spred the word! The truth's out there.
     
  14. RagingBarbarian

    RagingBarbarian Regent

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    California
    how do you capture the screenshot in the first place, thats my question.
     
  15. silver 2039

    silver 2039 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16,208
    You need to press the Print Screen button. Than open up your paint program and press contorl-v then you need to save it as a JEPEG and upload it.
     
  16. RagingBarbarian

    RagingBarbarian Regent

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    California
    thanks,
     
  17. barbslinger

    barbslinger Gun blast'n shot drinker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Buying a round for grumpy old men
    I used to always use paint for the screenshots but Space oddity posted this program and I use it primarily now. The resizing works great. I still use paint to add dots or text but the resizing works better with this. If I resize with paint the pics come out fuzzy. This program works well.

    IRFANVIEW
     
  18. T-hawk

    T-hawk Transcend

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,579
    Location:
    Hoboken NJ / NYC
    The 3.0 vBulletin upgrade makes this thread pretty much obsolete - perhaps it should be unstickied and/or replaced with a guide to the attachments system?
     
  19. microbe

    microbe Cascaded Mansion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,596
    Attachment system is great for game saves, or anything that's only meaningful temporarily. However with the quota limit you need to clean up attachments periodically, making it not suitable for screenshots. I think all screenshots should still be uploaded to the ftp server and kept for a much longer term (like 2 years if possible)?

    There were a lot of fantastic tales and SG reports in the forum. However a lot of them now have broken links to screenshots, making the read almost impossible. So I would request everybody not to use attachment for pictures, and the forum management team to keep pictures longer on the upload server. Please. :)
     
  20. Yaype

    Yaype Me

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    How do you use the attachment system? I am sure it is something obvious, but for some reason, it is escaping me at the moment. I know how to do the old file upload deal, but the new attachment system is beyond me. :mad:
     

Share This Page