1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Human Sacrifice to Appease Subjugated Aristrocrats

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by SowerCleaver, Jan 3, 2006.

1. SowerCleaver

SowerCleaver Chieftain

First, I’d like to note that I’m still a newbie and mostly play on Noble -- please feel free to make any comments or suggestions for the following strategy.

The Problem: When I make a war on an established civ, more often than not the first successfully captured city is immediately surrounded by the cultural border of the civ I am war at. If I am not quick enough to take out surrounding cities that emanate the culture, the captured city soon flips back to the original civ, which inconveniently forces me to take it again. Even if I take out surrounding cities before the city revolts back, a nearby third-party civ’s culture may surround now-vacuum area during the initial revolt -- which may ultimately result in flipping of the city to that civ.

One solution: With the Slavery civic, as soon as the intial revolt is over, whip the city to build cultural buldings such as Theater, Library, Monastery, Temple, etc. The added culture may earn a few more turns for me to spend in taking out surrounding cities. I think spending pop also makes sense since most of the time the city has so few tiles to work on and it will starve and lose the pop anyway. Also, if the city revolts, it will have lesser pop and will take longer to build defensive units.

Any thoughts?

2. madmaven

madmaven Warlord

Yes, use the whip! It's a good plan. They'll get over it.

3. Christopher546

Christopher546 Chieftain