1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Hunters Skin Factory

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Hunter, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Hunter

    Hunter Civ Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Feeding my addiction.
    I will make a few needed WW2 skins but I am moving to my new house this weekend so more to come after that.

    Well you have wo options:
    1) copy the origonal file with the same name to a new location then place the new file in the proper folder. Example:
    Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Assets\Art\units\infantry\Infantry_128.dds

    2) create a mod foder in:
    Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Mods
    Create the folders for units:
    Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Mods\My CIV\Assets\Art
    Copy the unit from the origonal location and replace the .dds file.
    This way you can load the unit with the mod.
    Remeber if you want a new unit you will need to edit several .xml files. (I can list them if you would like.
     
  2. LouLong

    LouLong In love with Rei Ayanami

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,385
    Location:
    Fontainebleau FRANCE
  3. jak08

    jak08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    You can convert the .dds file to any workable image format, then use any type of graphic editor to mod the skins. I use GIMP. It's free and great.
     
  4. texastarheel

    texastarheel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    texas
    Hunter, good job, your info helped a lot. could you list the xml files to edit to add new units. Do I need an xml editor, if so which is best. thanks, tex
     
  5. Swiftfoot

    Swiftfoot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Jak08 how do you convert the .dds to a workable image. From what I understand GIMP is the graphic editor what program do you use to convert the .dds files.

    Cheers!

    Swiftfoot
     
  6. catwhowalksbyhi

    catwhowalksbyhi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Connecticut
    google either Xnview, or dds converter
     
  7. Swiftfoot

    Swiftfoot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks catwhowalksbyhi! :goodjob:

    I'm embarrassed that thought never crossed my mind :blush:

    Cheers!
     
  8. Robo Magic Man

    Robo Magic Man Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Sword of Geddon, you spelled Quetzalcoatl wrong in your title thingy
     
  9. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina

    if you really love civ 3 better then you are a loser

    :joke: :joke: :joke: :joke: :joke:
     
  10. Hunter

    Hunter Civ Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Feeding my addiction.
    Back from a dead computer I give you two new unit skins:
    Highlander (seen in this post) and my new and improved swordsman!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Hunter

    Hunter Civ Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Feeding my addiction.
    Swordsman mark 2 :ninja:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    The Highlander will do nicely in several mods I'm sure. Nice work Hunter.
     
  13. Agraza

    Agraza Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    both of the swordsmen are really cool man
     
  14. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina
    the first one looks like a scottish guy with the plad kilt
     
  15. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,830
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    umm.... that's because it is a Scottish guy with a plaid kilt.
     
  16. Penitent

    Penitent Pacifist Warmonger

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    UK
    Could you make the shoulder pads for the highlander leather or metal please? they ruin it for me, otherwise I'd use them.
     
  17. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    Oh nice swordman skins Hunter :).
     
  18. SilverKnight

    SilverKnight Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO, USA
    Hunter, never let anyone forget that 'twas YOU who made the first C4 units. Excellent work on that last swordsman, I might add!

    *Clicky!* :p
    SilverKnight
     
  19. Hunter

    Hunter Civ Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Feeding my addiction.
    Babylonian Bowman

    Just for anyone needing a armored archer:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Hunter

    Hunter Civ Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    833
    Location:
    Feeding my addiction.
    Canadian Infantry

    The world war 1 infantry that came with Civ4 just wasnt right so I made some small changes. (darker pants, suspender changes and leg wraps)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop