1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Hussar (Steph) MF

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Multi-Figure Units' started by los_krachos, Mar 2, 2003.

  1. los_krachos

    los_krachos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    17
  2. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    The unit comes from a Cossack unit made by Shaun "Baddog" Fletcher
     
  3. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    Absolutely fantastic! :eek: :goodjob:
     
  4. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  5. Illustrious

    Illustrious Becoming Colonel Blimp

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, no longer wandering
    Any European civilization - historically hussars became one of the "trendy" cavalry types in Europe during the 18th and 19th centuries.

    Of the vanilla Civ3 nations, France, England, Germany (esp as Prussia), and Russia all used hussars.

    If you think of Rome and Greece as representing continuous civilizations up to the present, they would also conceivably have done so.

    Egypt, Babylon, China, Japan, Aztecs, Zulus, India, Persia, Iroquois and America should not use hussars if you want to be vaguely historical.
     
  6. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    So use this for European civs, and Dark Sheer's Bandit for the American civs - but which culture group should the Civ3 Cavalry go to?
     
  7. Ossric

    Ossric Hedonistic Ruler

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    745
    Location:
    Europe's capitol of hedonism
    this is weird, i have never seen this single unit!!
     
  8. Arne

    Arne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Rostock (GER)
    GREAT! :goodjob:

    Dos that mean, it is possible to convert every unit from "Cossacks" to Civ3? That would be great! How could it be done?
     
  9. BAP

    BAP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Sweet. Where's the single unit for this posted at?
     
  10. mrtn

    mrtn Shaven not stirred

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    8,635
    Location:
    Stockholm
    In the thread "Help needed to convert Cossacks units."

    HTH, HAND
     
  11. BAP

    BAP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Thanks
     
  12. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    This unit is in fact a Russian hussar. If you find some similarities between the picture and the unit, it's normal: Shaun made the unit from a picture I send him
     
  13. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Technically Yes. But it doesn't work with American Conquest yet (it may work with some palette tweaking, I will try when I'm done with Cossacks).
    How is it done? You need:
    - Cossacks
    - GP Viewer to display every frame of the cossacks animation
    - A keyboard (ALT + PrintScreen! Hit 254 times to produce the Ironside animation)
    - Paint Shop pro (or other, it's just to paste the screenshot and save it as bmp with the right name)
    - A special version of SBB to extract only the interesting part of the screenshot (see below), and to produce the eastern animation from a mirror of western ones (cossacks has no east animation), and create a storyboard
    - A nice guy like Smoking Mirror to modify the palette of the storyboard to meet FLICSTER requirement.
     
  14. Illustrious

    Illustrious Becoming Colonel Blimp

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, no longer wandering
    Thanks for the pic - impossible to tell just from the unit. But then, that's the great joy about hussars - the whole "look" was so much a fashion statement in Europe that everybody's hussars looked superficially the same. Which makes it a far more widely-usable unit than say the vanilla rifleman, which any fule knos could only possibly be a Yank...:D
     
  15. kittenOFchaos

    kittenOFchaos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    6,813
    Location:
    Brighouse, England
    Looks absolutely wonder!
     
  16. Shady

    Shady Why are you reading this?

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Location:
    Gun Traffic
    Try to release this is a singly unit plz
     
  17. Arne

    Arne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Rostock (GER)
    Hmmh, I have the original (European Wars). But not the XP.

    Is there such a free tool somewhere?

    A keyboard. I have to look if this is present... :rolleyes: Hitting 254 times!?! Lot of work, like it seems.
    Paint Shop Pro is present.
    SBB? Well here I miss something. What is SBB and where I get it/this special version? Actualy I didn't look closer for creating Multiunits. This was my first look here and immediately I saw this great Cossacks unit. So I guess SBB is your(?) tool for creating Multi units?
    If this will work with Paint Shop Pro, I could do this by myself, i hope. But actualy I can't, because I'm working on gfx for the Civ2 Colonize 4.0 scenario by John Ellis. If this is done, then I will look closer.

    @Illustrious: I think you are absolutely right. As far I know, every european hussar looked like the russian. And I'm glad, to see there is a possibility making excelent looking european units from the renissance aera up to napoleonic wars by converting these "Cossacks" units.
     
  18. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    To bad, the unit we are allowed to convert are in the XP.

    You don't know if it can be found freely, I know I have it on my computer

    Yes, lot of work

    Story Board Builder. It's a program I've created. You can find it in the utility program forum. It's use to create unit (single or multi figures). I'm the only one to have the special version for converting Cossacks unit
     
  19. Arne

    Arne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Rostock (GER)
    You are right: to bad. So it seems, I couldn't help you, making Cossacks units for Civ3. Hope you are still working on it.

    Well, I had read about SBB in the utility program forum after posting my last post here. Looks like it is a usefull tool! :)
     

Share This Page