1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I am Ashamed.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Joeexplorer, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. Joeexplorer

    Joeexplorer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Now I have sunk to the lowest of low.

    I started my game (Warlord level now) went one turn.

    I then enter World Builder to see if stone and marble are nearby. Yep.

    I then look at my opponents starting location to get bead on them. Yep
    (I'm playing against 10 opp).

    I look at the closest 3 opp to see if it reasonable to rush them. Yep.

    Voila. Now I have a clear path to victory.

    Here's the lowest point. In my recenet game I reentered World Builder and instead of rushing the 3 closet opp I just deleted them off the face of the earth.

    I am soooooooooo ashamed. But I played it out anyway.
     
  2. desemondez

    desemondez Trance Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    You must be the epitome of " Do whatever it takes to win ".
     
  3. Enigma256

    Enigma256 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    i sometimes also do that :D

    but hey, as long as i'm having fun... :D
     
  4. Bast

    Bast Protector of Cats

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,026
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This just reminded me of the Christina Aguilera song: Beautiful.

     
  5. Naismith

    Naismith Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Ok, that's pretty low. But I think I can help you sink even lower. For each new city you found or conquer, reward yourself by going into WorldBuilder and adding the resource of your choice to any city. Also add rivers for more commerce, etc. If you're short on workers, it's ok to add roads as well.

    But common, at least have the self respect to cheat on a higher level than Warlord! :lol:
     
  6. Bast

    Bast Protector of Cats

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,026
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Joe, sing the chorus with me. Come on:

     
  7. Gre_Magus

    Gre_Magus Manet

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Hey, it's a game and it's supposed to be fun - so, do what ever you want with it! Go nuts with the world builder!

    But don't forget that sometimes a challenge is fun too! ;)
     
  8. Crighton

    Crighton Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,136
    It's the AI's fault for not doing the same thing, their lack of audacity doomed them to the rubbish heap, lazy sods i say.
     
  9. Joeexplorer

    Joeexplorer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    I watched "3 Rue" something, this morning with Jimmny Cagne. He was an American spy training new spies for WW II. He said there's now so such thing as fair play, no such thing as playing by the rules, you can throw all of that stuff out the window. This is War.

    I guess I took him toooo literally.:lol:

    I blame my low life existance on the movie industry...:lol:
     
  10. Jormungandr

    Jormungandr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    I'd pay good money to have a mod where the AI can use worldbuilder ;) First one to spam nine trillion nukes wins!
     
  11. eewallace

    eewallace King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    USA
    I actually could have sworn in one of my games that the AI did just that (used worldbuilder, I mean--not spammed nukes...). I spotted a gem mine sitting on a hill practically on the north pole, with no jungles anywhere near. I later realized, though, that there is a random chance of gems suddenly springing up out of any working mine, even if they couldn't have appeared there initially.
     
  12. Lacaixa

    Lacaixa Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Mansfield, England
    I told my eight year old son NEVER to go on Worldbuilder because it's cheating and would ultimately ruin the game for him. I had to quickly press the reset button on the PC the other day when I was on Worldbuilder (trying to correct an error you understand) and he came into my office. I feel so ashamed. :blush:
     
  13. axident

    axident Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,066
    It's okay. I bet you never had a dad who told you to NEVER go on Worldbuilder. ;)
     
  14. Ball Lightning

    Ball Lightning www.sporedum.net

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Location:
    Thunderstorm, Melbourne, Australia
  15. Transkar

    Transkar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    I use it for a certain game. 18 civs, 2 teams, 2 continents. I then create a 1 x 1 land bridge and always war. 9 on 9 its pretty fun, everyone dies on the bridge.
     
  16. ShunNakamura

    ShunNakamura Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    235

    I once used the world builder to add some resources to make everyone's capitals 'SUPER Cities'. In addition I added barbarian 'Kingdoms' to island chains off the side of continents. I gave them a horrendous unit number. Those cities were very rich seafood wise[good GP farms], but taking them without modern weapons would be a pain. I also gave them bombers to help blast early transports.

    I learned a hard lesson. Barbarian bombers can apparently bomb through the great wall :(.... my poor poor farms.
     
  17. L4zXX0r

    L4zXX0r Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    And someone called me a cheater for using regenerate map. At least you had fun.
     
  18. Soneji

    Soneji Prince and Great Steward

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    Dùn Èideann
    With warlords I used to use worldbuilder to scout out my first 500 year plan. Only because that game seemed hell bent on giving you the crappest starts possible, ie tundra costal starts continiously.

    BtS does seem to give fairer starts to the human, so don't feel the need to anymore.

    Still regenerate starts I don't like the look of though. But it no longer takes an hour and a half to find a start that I would want to play.
     
  19. qwertz

    qwertz Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Switzerland
    it is cheating, but sometimes when you are in a bad situation , it's just too easy to press ctrl+W :D
     
  20. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    No one called you a cheater.....


    Is the OP cheating? Yes of course he is - intentionally manipulating elements outside of the game rules to detract from his enemies and boost his potential - of course that's cheating.... is that a value judgement? No it isn't! :goodjob:

    Do whatever floats your boat - it's an SP game and you have only yourself to decide the limits of what is acceptable or not.

    If you want to stop, there's an option at the start to check to ensure you can't alter the flow of the game outside of the game mechanics. I use it to remove any such temptation for me too! ;)
     

Share This Page