1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

i built the mercurian gate and basium didnt show up

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by ash874, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. ash874

    ash874 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    israel
    i turned good and built it. is this a bug? maybe its because i play on 35 players?
     
  2. xalien

    xalien Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    512
    Maybe you've checked the option "compact enforced"?
     
  3. Skyre Noktis

    Skyre Noktis Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    If you're playing with the maximum number of players the game supports, then it can't add any more players unless one of them dies, presumably. I'd need to test this out for myself, though.
     
  4. ash874

    ash874 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    israel
    you are right i do play on 35 players but we are about 20 left at the time. i have the save in the turn before i build it. if anyone wants to check

    btw:compact NOT enforced
     
  5. Lord Alvon

    Lord Alvon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    The Kryptian Empire
    On the upside, at least you have the benefits from the -20% war :mad:
     
  6. Lord Alvon

    Lord Alvon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    The Kryptian Empire
    I've never played with 35 players... sounds like fun...and it would probably be hard to get a humongous empire... I really want to try it out, now...
     
  7. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, its because it couldnt add a new player to the game.
     
  8. Skyre Noktis

    Skyre Noktis Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    So the game isn't freeing up a player slot when someone kicks the bucket? That could almost be considered a bug, I think. It might end up looking a bit strange on the power charts, though, I guess.
     
  9. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,207
    Location:
    Kael's head
    I believe the maximum number of players that may be in the game is hardcoded to 35 (in FfH, it is lower in normal BtS) in the DLL, so the computer cannot add another slot beyond that in mid game. Kael had changed it to 40 (I think) shortly after BtS made it possible for modders to change this, but he reduced it since (at the time, before introducing Minor leaders) having more than 35 players would require duplicate leaders be in the game at the same time. I'd recommend increasing the limit again.


    I just remembered one time several version back when I liberated a colony after killing off a civ, and the new civ/leader took the slot and name of the old. That Cardith Lorda looked a lot like Arcturus Thorne.
     

Share This Page