1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I Cannot Conquer Cities, Only Pillage and Leave Ruins?!?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by siouxfallsciv, Nov 3, 2005.

  1. siouxfallsciv

    siouxfallsciv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD, USA
    Am I missing something here? I assume you can still conquer cities? Last night I finally had enough with that tiny little Spanish colony on the shores of my continent and decided to take it over and make it mine. After rolling my tank over to the border and declaring war I was shocked to see that I couldn't conquer the fallen city only pillage it, is this normal??:sad:

    siouxfallsciv
     
  2. Harbringer

    Harbringer Your A One Flower Garden

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,074
    Location:
    Shoveling Hills of Blue
    If a city is tio small then it will be automatically destroyed without the option of capture.And yo realize those spanish are just going to jack your tanks treads and steel your hatch rite?
     
  3. Ryanstein

    Ryanstein Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think if the size is 1 then you automaticly pillage it. otherwise it gives you the option of pillage or installing a new governor
     
  4. siouxfallsciv

    siouxfallsciv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD, USA
    The great state of South Dakota along with myself, thank you for the incredibly quick replies, now I can sleep...after I play for a few hours.

    ...they did jack my treads
     
  5. Isildurs Heir

    Isildurs Heir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    West Coast, US
    Well, at least be happy they finally added Mt Rushmore to the Wonders....

    Badlands and Wall's Drug store in next version :lol:
     
  6. walt526

    walt526 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    I don't think its simply that if the population equals 1, then its automatically destroyed. I'm pretty sure that I've been able to conquor cities that size. I think it has something to do with the difference between the attacking unit and its last line of defense. A tank has a strength rating of 28. What type of defender were you going up against? You said it was a colony on a distant continent, so I'm assuming that he wasn't using his best and brightest to defend it.
     
  7. snepp

    snepp King

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Don't forget the Corn Palace! :lol:
     
  8. KymeraTX

    KymeraTX Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Texas, USA

    LOL Walls Drug store is soooooo FTW!!!! Only 500000 signs telling you how far it is LMAO!!! :crazyeye:

    Visited all that good stuff on my vacation a few years ago.
     
  9. Isildurs Heir

    Isildurs Heir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    West Coast, US
    Oh yea.....and Laura Ingall's House on the Prairie! :lol:
     
  10. snepp

    snepp King

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    :lol: Man does South Dakota suck.

    :undecide:

    Maybe I need to move... :p
     
  11. Cerryl

    Cerryl Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri
    If the city has no culture, it has to be razed as well.
     

Share This Page