1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I can't start a game!

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by ZoveckSorcanon, Sep 28, 2019.

  1. ZoveckSorcanon

    ZoveckSorcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Hey guys! I've been playing Civ4 for years now on a Mac, and I've only been able to get one mod running - History Rewritten; however, I've seen C2C for so long as one of the big names and have been itching to give it a try. I downloaded it and put it in the correct mods folder, but I am coming across some issues. Some other people have had them on here, but I am woefully inexperienced with modding and know pretty much nothing about it. Here they are:

    1. XML Load Error
    LoadXML call failed for xml\text\entertainer_civ4gametext.xml.
    Current XML file is: xml\PythonCallbackDefines.xml

    2. XML Load Error
    Failed Loading XML File xml\text\traditions_civ4gametext.xml. [/Users/tim/P4/Civ4/Source BTS/Win/FirePlace/FireWorks/Win32/FXml.cpp:140] Error parsing XML File -
    File: xml\text\traditions_civ4gametext.xml
    Reason: (null)
    Line: 0, 0
    Source: (null)

    The oddest part about the second one is that I don't know a Tim. My name isn't tim, and my computer user goes by a different name on my account.

    The two errors keep repeating once I click "OK", one after the other, so I have to force quite the application.

    In any case, I'm perplexed. I would appreciate any assistance! Thanks!
     
  2. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,630
    Location:
    Norway
    There is no mac support for C2C, sorry.

    Tim is a default/example name applied by the perforce software. I don't know what perforce is as I'm not a mac user, maybe it's related to windows emulation, wine?
     
  3. ZoveckSorcanon

    ZoveckSorcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I wouldn't doubt that wine has something to do with it. That makes sense... I had issues before, but I came surprisingly far (in my opinion). Thanks for your help!
     
  4. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,427
    Location:
    Poland
    Get Windows 7 or 10 :p
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    The mac implementation of Civ IV does not support mods that change the dll.
     
  6. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Someone came along and did a dll that works with MAC if I recall but they would've had to keep updating it and they haven't.
     
  7. ZoveckSorcanon

    ZoveckSorcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Do you know anything more about this, i.e. where to find it? I could look into it.
     
  8. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    It won't help you, the mod relies on the matching version of the DLL.
     

Share This Page