1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I have never seen any Tobacco anywhere ?!

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Bug Reports' started by b3n, Oct 2, 2008.

  1. b3n

    b3n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Is this a bug?

    I like to restart my games quite a lot but I've never seen any toabbco at all.
    Do I have to do something special to find it? There wasn't anything like that mentioned in the manual or civlopedia.

    Thanks,
     
  2. ChrTh

    ChrTh Happy Yule!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    6,255
    Location:
    Piedmont Triad, North Carolina
    Which map are you playing, New World, Carib, or other?
     
  3. Sir Ralph

    Sir Ralph Dragon slayer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Play as the English and all you will ever see is tobacco. I was usually playing the English and have tobacco all around. Sometimes a little cotton, too. But I have never seen any sugar.

    Add this to the large list of flaws and imbalances of this utterly broken game.
     
  4. b3n

    b3n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hmm.

    I have only ever played as English and only Caribbean (I like islands!).

    I always see a vast amount of Sugar, very little Cotton and even less Furs.

    It gets boring making Rum all the time - I would like to make Cigars as well.
    In real life, Cuba is in the Caribbean isn't it? And they are famous for Cigars!
     
  5. sneaky

    sneaky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    As the Dutch I have seen loads of Tobacco on New World maps, but never ever any sugar... :(
     
  6. b3n

    b3n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    This definitely seems like a bug.

    I started a game as Dutch and New World and there was Tobacco but no Sugar.

    So it seems that if you play New World you get Tobacco instead of Sugar, and if you play Caribbean you get Sugar instead of Tobacco.

    I can't see any reason why this should be.
     
  7. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    It's just the maps you're getting. There's no bug, and it's possible to have all goods on the map. :)

    In the pic you can see cotton, sugar, tobacco, fur, ore, food, and further up I had silver too.
     
  8. b3n

    b3n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    What kind of game is that map from? New World or Caribbean?

    I've never seen both Tobacco and Sugar on the same map and I've been playing a lot.

    I as looking at that global view before and there were Furs next to one of my settlements - but the Furs weren't shown in the global view. And they were the only Furs on the map.
     
  9. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    That's a HUGE new world map. :)
     
  10. Berba

    Berba Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Sweden
    I play on huge western hemisphere (??), I'vd never seen any cotton exept for one time when I went to North America...
    I wan't cotton :(
     
  11. glee

    glee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    UK
    I've played on New World (standard and huge) and a couple of custom scenario maps.

    I've seen everything except Silver (even on the South America map!) :(
     
  12. b3n

    b3n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Well I think the code that manages resource generation needs to be modified.

    I find that if I play on New World then there is usually at least 1 of each Resource (even if there is only 1, usually Sugar).

    But on Caribbean there is NEVER any tobacco.
     
  13. euskingc

    euskingc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    At first I thought the same thing about the silver... but if u play the northwest passage map its all over the place.

    Honestly though Im just as disillusioned as most people with this game. I doubt any playtesting was done whatsoever.

    I dont know who was responsible for this mess at firaxis but someone slipped up bad, and now theyve managed to anger alot of their die-hard fans. This game could have been legendary.
     
  14. Berba

    Berba Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Sweden
    Silver is in the peaks
     
  15. Leo Tang

    Leo Tang Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Hong kong
    Caribbean map only have sugar (plenty), cotton and (a higher quantity of ) silver high mountain. The climate is too hot for Tobacco and Furs.

    U get tobacco on grassland base and fur on tundra. In Caribbean map, there is no grassland or tundra. U get cotton from plains, or sugar from marsh. This disadvantage is somewhat compensated by the abundance of silver.
     
  16. nop

    nop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Thailand
    I played a customized map.... there were tobaccos on the map but accually there was no tobacco the squares produced sugar or something else.... that was weird.
     

Share This Page