1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I just tried to buy BTS online.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Trapper439, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Trapper439

    Trapper439 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Sorry if this contravenes the forum rules in any way, but I just tried to buy Beyond the Sword online from a well known site that starts with S and rhymes with "Team".

    And I got this error message: "Your transaction failed because you are trying to buy a game that requires ownership of another game you do not currently own. Please correct the error and try again."

    I own a copy of (vanilla) Civ 4. Are these *******s trying to fleece me by making me buy it again? What other options do I have for buying BTS?
     
  2. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    Stores.
    Steam.
     
  3. juanbobo

    juanbobo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Do you own a copy of Civ 4 on Steam though?
     
  4. juanbobo

    juanbobo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Unfortunately you need the Steam version of vanilla to buy BTS. I imagine Civ 4 complete which comes with vanilla and BTS will be available during the holiday Steam sales for around $6-7 as it was last year.
     
  5. Trapper439

    Trapper439 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks for the answers everyone.

    Thanks for that especially, juanbobo. After spending a couple of hours dealing with needlessly difficult login issues, etc, I'm not really sure if I want to give those ****s a single dime of my money, though.

    I first encountered Steam when I bought a Total War game and it installed Steam on my PC without my consent. Now that I've tried to actually use Steam I like it even less than I did then. If this is the future of gaming then count me out.

    I think I'll just stick with vanilla Civ4. I hear BTS is pretty good, but Steam can go **** themselves. Sorry if I sound aggravated, it's only because I really am aggravated.
     
  6. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    Steam sucks. So does Black Ops. They go hand in hand. Why do you think I still play this and CoD4? :p
     
  7. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    If you want to buy BTS online, check Amazon, Ebay and similar outlets for a disk version. They usually have it at a decent price. Once the disk arrives, it will be happy to install with the disk version of CIV vanilla that you already have. (Or sometimes the CIV Complete package is a real good deal and will include the disks for CIV, Warlords, BTS and Colonization (or whatever that stand alone one is called).)

    FWIW, I agree that Steam = :thumbsdown: :evil:
     
  8. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,207
    Buying a digital copy of BTS from good sites like Gamersgate or D2D will work with a disk copy of Civ IV. It's actually what I use.

    BTS is not just good, it IS the way you should be playing Civ IV. Plus, you will be able to use the great mods that enhance the game.
     
  9. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    Perhaps Steam would be satisfied if you added your existing copy of Civ4 to your Steam. (Steam=>Games=>Add a non-steam game to my library.)
     
  10. juanbobo

    juanbobo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    123
  11. TheWilltoAct

    TheWilltoAct I am observe

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    Exiled from Fribbulus Xax
    Nah I think Steam is too greedy to allow that. :lol:

    At worst Steam is a necessary evil, but it does everything possible to help you forgive it. ;)
    Some wonderful downloadable games are available through the service.
    Spoiler :
    Terraria
    Jamestown
     
  12. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    Adding your CIV vanilla to your Steam account would not solve the problem, even if they permit it, because the Steam versions have all been modified to store their files in a non-standard location. This prevents them from finding versions stored in the standard locations, and visa versa.
     
  13. tdy99

    tdy99 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    The Capital of the Confederacy
    When I had to reformat recently and reinstall everything, I just installed BTS without vanilla or Warlords. I am using steam so it's odd that it's not working for you.
     
  14. juanbobo

    juanbobo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Yes, but you own Civ 4 on Steam?
     
  15. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,781
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    Did you ever stop to consider that the message was to protect you from buying a game from them that would not work because it requires their version of Civ4 vanilla to play? I do not think STEAM knows that you own vanilla? As I have read here, buying a STEAM version of bts will not work with your copy of vanilla, so they saved you money and heartache?

    While I am not a big fan of STEAM, the negativity towards them for reasons such as this are unfounded and need correction. Do not understand the need to enjoy savaging something without understanding what is behind it.

    And please watch your language in your future posting.
     
  16. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,207
    :goodjob: Leif....said much better what I had hoped to say

    I have quite a few games on Steam, and while not a big fan either, the service gets way too much unfounded flak around here.
     
  17. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    It's not Steam I hate, it's the games that it comes with (Black Ops, (IIRC) Civ5, etc). Personally I prefer XFire, but that is just me.
     
  18. TheWilltoAct

    TheWilltoAct I am observe

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,874
    Location:
    Exiled from Fribbulus Xax
    Steam is motivated by profits, like every other business ever. If they selected games to offer based on their own personal prejudices, they would be unable to compete. What you will find on the shelf wherever you purchase your games, is exactly what you will find on Steam.
     
  19. Kilroy Was Here

    Kilroy Was Here Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    I bought the Complete Edition on Steam a year ago. My first Steam game was Half-Life 2, back in 2009. I haven't looked back since. Steam is probably one of the best things to happen to gaming since 2004.
     
  20. Old Hippy

    Old Hippy Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,606
    i have several games on steam, so its OK, if you buy games there... but they ask for a savaging when I buy Civ V off the shelf and then register it with them to find it then wants to completely reinstall it... using up all of what I had left in my monthly download allowance, then the second time i played it they did the same again, with the first patch, a download larger than my disc copy of Civ V. I have spent more on purchasing internet recharge vouchers this year than the $300, i spent on games that had to be registered with them... i understand that the box says requires registration on steam... but it dose not say your copy will be overwritten with steams copy... twice... 10 gigs per game, is alot for wireless remote location internet

    they are what they are ... just feel the need to say what they are is all
     

Share This Page