1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I love this mod, BUT...! Anyone else have this problem? Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod' started by DVS, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    Does anyone else seem to have the problem that computer controlled civs do not engage in battle?

    When you guys play this mod, do the AI nations fight with ground troops? For me, all they do is use their air forces.

    This is an unreal mod, exactly what I've been looking for, but I start WWII as the Nazi's, and seem to be the only one sending units into enemy territory. I played through 1950, and maybe one city changed hands besides the ones I took (with almost the entire world at war) I'm marching in to the USSR and they're really not sending any units to fight back. I can see that other civs have units they could be sending to fight, but they're keeping them inside their borders, despite being at war with neighboring states.


    Has anyone else had this problem? It's driving me crazy. Is there any fix for it? I've also used andyterry's XX mod and it didn't seem to have this problem. Please help if possible! This would be a perfect mod if it weren't for this issue.
     
  2. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone? Someone must have fixed this problem, help a brother out.

    This is a (amazing) WWII mod. How are you guys fighting WWII without anyone sending troops into enemy territory? What am I missing here.
     
  3. wotan321

    wotan321 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,218
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Really? I invaded the USSR and they have opened an armored can of whoop-arse on me like nobody's business. Its kind of unpleasant.... <g>. But you are right, the other civs don't do much. Stalin on the other hand, is attacking with multiple stacks of combined arms and its ugly!
     
  4. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm, strange. What level are you playing on? (monarch, prince, etc). I'm on Deity.
     
  5. vidimce

    vidimce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Yea I got this same issue. Im the only one in war. All the AI does is stack a lot army in their major cities and wait. It is a great mod and I hope this issue is resolved. WW2 should be bloody ass battles, hell lotta infantry, bunkers, artilery bombarding the . .. .. .. . outta everything.
     
  6. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    I have also this same issues - lazy ai is what bugs me most it runs war, it ocnquers cities - but it makes very slow and keep defending rather than attacking.

    Castor_Troy works on improving the AI - he works on it's own Mod Addon wich would be available soon :). Some parts will be used in next update - i don't know how much change to gameplay and ai intelligence it will bring (i've recieved beta yesterday) but it'll be interesting position.

    About AI - there's no good solution right now - perhaps you could try experimenting with settings in InitsInfos.xml on your own. You can try to wait for Castor_Troy official mod addon or for update (but i don't promis much in this case)

    In the future I'm courious how mod would run on BTS - they say it has a lot improved ai in comparison to warlords - i'll see if it would work fine for 1939 mod.
     
  7. Peter1501

    Peter1501 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Austria
    I have got the same problem, that the AI keeps most of its units within their cities, although they are at war with multiple nations! In the last game only Stalin send some troops!
    Also the AI didn´t use artillery to lower city-defense, and kept a stack of tanks near an enemy city for around 30 turns! Really strange, but in general one of the BEST mods for civ4!
    Can´t wait for BTS-version!
     
  8. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Thank you :)
    It seems that ranged bombardment has some bug :( probably we would make first version under bts without it.
     
  9. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
    But there is a Bts edition or port all ready :D
     
  10. Mosher

    Mosher Mushroom dad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6,088
    Location:
    New England
    Well, WWII was won through air superiority. Without the RAF and the airbombings on German factories, we well might have lost.
     

Share This Page