I must be the first to Theology... big disadvantage??

neismond

Chieftain
I am still relatively new to Civ4, having played about a dozen or so games. Going to be purchasing BtS in the next week or so. However, there is one thing that I simply must do each and every game, regardless of civilization/leader/difficulty level-

I must be the first one to Theology.

Having said that, I will typically allocate as much to science/research as I can, and follow the quickest and most direct path to Theology. Once I accomplish this, then I start to go back and get the other research items and such.

My question is this- I currently play at the easy level. For now, I am able to handle pretty much the majority of civilizations. However, I am a bit concerned about increasing the difficulty level while "handicapping" myself in this regard. Is this thought process going to be that much of a hinderance that it is going to prevent me from being successful at even moderate/average difficulty level?

I don't mind challenges; however, it would be nice to win a game every now and then. If I play 30 straight moderate difficulty level games and am blown out by 1000 AD because of this Theology situation, that is going to be extremely frustrating.

Anyone have any comments or thoughts? Or should I simply abandon the Theology requirement in order to be on par with my opponents and not get that far behind? Thanks all!