I Need Help Making Friends

ConShonnery

Chieftain
^ Really, I'm not very good at it. I try to play reasonably peaceful and the whole continent ends at war with me.

In my current game as Germany, I started on a continent with Mayans, Shoshone, America, and Carthage. As this is one of the things I know I need to get better at, I decided to play with Transparent Diplomacy so I could actually know when I made mistakes and such.

Shoshone picked Progress like me and didn't share a border, so I think I'll try to befriend them. Even get a DoF and research agreement at some point! Great. Then a few turns later, they ask me to join them in a war against the Mayans. Well, I'm not really into that because I don't want to get warmonger penalties, so I say no: -30 relationship because my recent diplomatic actions disappoint them. That's enough to entirely cancel out the DoF.

Often when I say no to going to war, the AI ends up not going to war. But this time they did, and I didn't want them to swallow up the Mayan empire and then snowball military with the extra production, and I figured I could get some points back for fighting against a common foe. So I DoW on the Mayans and help Shoshone out, and I take 1 city and leave the rest of them. But they fail to take any cities, and the penalty for my warmongering (-18, I think it was) is worse than fighting against a common foe (+15). PLUS I now get the territorial disputes penalty because my captured city barely touches a Shoshone one: -25. So now they hate me even more.