1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I need help naming cities

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario Creation' started by thedirk, Jul 23, 2001.

  1. thedirk

    thedirk Master of Stealth

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    The future centre of the universe
    I am in the process of creating a scenario. My first real scenario. It sucks so it's not likely that any of you will ever see it.
    Anyway, according to my manual (I'm playing MGE) there should be a button under the tribe editor function that allows me to set the default city names for my tribe. Unfortunately it's not there. In fact out of the six buttons that are supposed to appear, only three of them do.

    Is there another way to get into the default city names file, other than through my editor which obviously has a problem with it? Thanks if anyone can help.
     
  2. Vrylakas

    Vrylakas The Verbose Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,940
    Location:
    Bostonia
    thedirk -

    Is the issue that the section of the editor is missing? I would suggest deleting your copy and downloading a fresh one (available from this website).

    You can easily access the Cities.gif file in your Civ directory, but changing the cities' names is hazardous in that file. You're likely to get lots of error messages if you don't use an outside editor. The relevant section of the Tribe Editor looks like this:

    <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/image_uploads/TribeEditor.jpg" border=0>

    Doh! Sorry about the enlargened image...

    ------------------
    *************************
    "...über den Bergen sind auch Leute..."

    [This message has been edited by Vrylakas (edited July 23, 2001).]
     
  3. Exile

    Exile Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    If you want to use the "city" file to change names there are some rules you should be aware of.

    1.) Don't ever hit a return

    2.) Don't delete a line--put something there.

    3.) DON'T eliminate a tribe.

    Exile

    [This message has been edited by Exile (edited July 23, 2001).]
     

Share This Page