1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

I needa BLANK 362x362 map...

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Xen, Sep 16, 2004.

  1. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    for some reason my PC freezes when trying to generate a random map, and I dont know how to make one that size just all clear, with sea as the only terrian on the map, so i can work my magic;

    so i was wondering if anyoen would be kind enough to generate a just a big, blank map, and upload it so that i can download it; i would certinally appreciate it :)
     
  2. unscratchedfoot

    unscratchedfoot War is a good thing.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    japan
  3. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    why not DL one of the giga maps and open it in the editor and do the old 'clear map' function?

    btw, scratchmyfoot is right. load times are obscene for maps this big but to each their own.
     
  4. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    A)clear map funtion oly generates a new clear map that isnt nearlyl thgat large (it only goes up to the "standard" huge

    B)I nee dit blank so I can make a huge map of a galacxy/ section of galaxy as i wish to create my own space based mod for my own enjoyment
     
  5. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    What's the matter there, Xen? Too greedy to share? :p
     
  6. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    makign personal mods is a very gradual process for me, so it woudl take along tiem to complete, and while when/if it ever gets done i could release it, I'm hardley goign to work peoples hopes up for a cool mod that would come out in a month or so; I just dont have that much time to devote to modding a full scenario (also, check your PM box ;))
     
  7. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  8. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    it woudl be alot easyer if someone could just uplaod it for me; as I havent a clue as to what utilities you speak of, and would get bord of clearing all the land tiles from a giga map in about .5 seconds (making a map is one thing; cleaning another up is another ;))
     
  9. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    there's a utility program in that forum that can expand/decrease map sizes. very useful but i forget its name.

    clearing a map like that would take c. 7 or 8 minutes tops!
     
  10. Zeekater

    Zeekater hasn't been using drugs

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,245
    Location:
    Belgium
    Isn't there this nice function in the C3C editor called 'clear map', which allows you to choose the underlying terrain? :p

    Loadtime: 10 minutes for a 256*256 map full of units on a P4, 2 gigaherz, 256 RAM ;)
     
  11. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    A) I cant generate a map that big, period. I dont have the function to generat e amap any larger then 180x180; I dont know why, i just dont.

    B)I dont care how lonmg it takes; if I dont liek, then I'll just bump it all down to somthing smaller; if not, then I'm happy :p
     
  12. Zeekater

    Zeekater hasn't been using drugs

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,245
    Location:
    Belgium
    What type? C3C, PTW, or vanilla?
     
  13. Zeekater

    Zeekater hasn't been using drugs

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,245
    Location:
    Belgium
    Here, if it isn't a C3C thing you want, too bad. :D
     
  14. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    15,994
    Location:
    Formosa
    Thank You! :d
     

Share This Page