I want it all! And I want it now.

erikg88

Warlord
Hey guys - I'm a high-school graduate now, and with graduation comes... crisp dollar bills. With the sudden influx of cash, I've an urge to spend it. And since I've decided the DS isn't for me, I figured I'd give myself a decent graphics card. Here are my computer specs.

The Processor: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3500+, ~2.2ghz
RAM: 1 Gig (of DDR, I presume)
The Graphics Card: A GeForce FX 5700LE, with 256 megs of memory.

My desire is simple: to play Civ 4 with all the graphical bells and whistles on, and with no hiccups or slowdown.

Can my rig, assuming I get a new card, accomplish this? If the answer is yes, which graphics card (with the upper limit of my budget being ~250) is going to do the job for me?

Thanks a lot for reading, and thanks a metric ****-ton if you can help.

erikg88 said:
My desire is simple: to play Civ 4 with all the graphical bells and whistles on, and with no hiccups or slowdown.
That'll depend more on what mapsizes you play than how powerful you're equipment is. Slowdown is inevitable on huge maps.

As far as upping your video card, that's a tough one to advise you on. You could go for all of your money on a card, and do great, but you could also go most on a card and the rest another gig of ram...

superslug said:
That'll depend more on what mapsizes you play than how powerful you're equipment is. Slowdown is inevitable on huge maps.

As far as upping your video card, that's a tough one to advise you on. You could go for all of your money on a card, and do great, but you could also go most on a card and the rest another gig of ram...

Well, I play on Tiny maps right now, and the game is choppy when I scroll around - I want to see multi-model formations!

So when you say slowdown, do you mean between turns, or lagging while scrolling about?

Anyway, another gig of ram? Really? And here I was thinking 1 gig was sufficient. Any idea what a good price for a gig of ram would be?