1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I want to change one of my redlined items

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by YNCS, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. YNCS

    YNCS Ex-bubblehead

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    -4 GMT
    I captured a barbarian city that I don't want. I tried to offer it to all the other civs. Each time the city was redlined. I don't want the damn thing, but I'm not given the opportunity to offer it to anybody. Some of the AI civs have some techs I wouldn't mind trading the city for. I can't convince the game to let ME be in charge of trading.
     
  2. BLiTZWiNG

    BLiTZWiNG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    The AI is picky about cities it will accept as trade... ie. it wont trade for badly placed cities.
     
  3. JoeBas

    JoeBas Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Yeah, it wants the pleasure of plopping them down itself... :crazyeye: :rolleyes: ;)
     
  4. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    There's your problem.. they don't want it either.
     
  5. Yzen Danek

    Yzen Danek Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    I think you're misunderstanding what the redline means.

    Redlined items are just an indication that the AI you're talking to isn't interested in having that item be part of a bargain, no matter what. Redlines are just there to save you the trouble of trying to put together a trade and then having it rejected over and over.
     
  6. YNCS

    YNCS Ex-bubblehead

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    -4 GMT
    If I could bundle the redlined city with, say, a tech, then I could get rid of it and still, probably, get something decent back. But I don't even have that opportunity.

    BTW, in my game, I just pulled out all units and ten turns later a barbarian wandered in and took back the city.
     
  7. Mewtarthio

    Mewtarthio Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,930
    No, you couldn't. The red on the city means that the AI would never, ever accept it, even if you paid it.
     
  8. Soil

    Soil ねねね

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    LV-426
    I don't like the redlined stuff. Even if they hate you, they'll gladly accept any of your technologies, but refuse to give anything of theirs.

    I've been offered a mediocre tech for several good techs of mine before by the AI, so I choose "Care to negotiate?". As soon as I hit the option the item they offered 2 seconds ago is redlined!! This annoys me, as they AI is clearly willing to give it away if it got a good bargain. So, now even if you wanted to offer even MORE for the tech, they refuse point blank.

    I really wish you could really persuade AIs into deals. Having many many redline items makes diplomacy so unfun. Sure some could abuse the AI that way, but I just play for fun, not to ruthlessly exploit the AI to biggest extent possible.

    I'd just like more realistic deals.

    As for giving away cities, the AI will happily plonk a city in the middle of a frozen wasteland of glaciers, it probably doesn't analyze it's quality? Maybe just size? or perhaps it all goes down to just attitude towards you.
     
  9. DrewBledsoe

    DrewBledsoe Veteran QB

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Cheering For Mr Sanchez
    This is true, but makes me laugh..as if you leave even a few Ice squares unoccupied, sooner or later one of the Ais will settle there, so why they'd reject a free city, is really utterlly nonsensical..but thats how it works.
     
  10. Baloo

    Baloo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    What if the AIs are running a deficit, and simply don't want to have to pay for another city, especially if it's not all that good? Would you always accept a city, if it was crappy and you had to pay a lot to maintain it?
     
  11. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Nope, but thats not saying the AI is smart. Because the same AI will put a city right on the outer border square of ice to a high culture city inevitably about to expand soon. The fact is the AI builds:

    This is what the AI builds (obviously pointing out the "no more city sprawling AI" is a joke) If they are so good to found yourself, why not take one at the cost of no settler? I am willing to bet this city in question is better than a city that can only pull off 4 tiles of land that is ice all around it and 2 water squares.
     
  12. Baloo

    Baloo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    I don't doubt that, I've seen some pretty dumb moves.
     

Share This Page