1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

I want to play as the barbs!!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Revenant, Dec 3, 2002.

  1. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    Has anyone developed a mod where i can play as the barbs?
    Its something that i have always wanted to do.
    It would be tough but it would be fun!
    For the original civ (on the atari st) my brother wrote a program where you could change your civ!
    You could even become the barbarians!
    But when you were the barbarians you ALWAYS lost EVERY battle and cities in disorder ALWAYS stayed in disorder even with no unhappy people.

    Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated!
    :p :p :p
     
  2. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    I don't think it's possible:( But maybe I'm mistaken...
     
  3. Cedric Greene

    Cedric Greene King

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    CT
    There was a similar program for Civ 2 classic, which allowed hotseat multiplayer and playing as the Barbs. It was very buggy though, atleast playing as the barbs crashed every other time you tried to open the city screen.
     
  4. Smash

    Smash Super Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    3,539
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    It is possible

    This was originally designed for an OCC game with you as the Romans and also controlling the barbs.There is a normal save and a hotseat save.
     
  5. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thank you very much smash!
    If this works at all i will be very happy.
    :cooool:
     
  6. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ooh do i need any patch to play this save?
     
  7. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    Its not exactly easy when you consider the fact that the barbarians lose 99% of the time to the ai when attacking.
    Now i am the barbarians attacking the ai.
    I think i won twice while losing 150+ units.
    At what difficulty are the barbs "equal" to the ai?(no attack penalties)
     
  8. ben_weller1991

    ben_weller1991 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    originally postd by revenant
    Its not exactly easy when you consider the fact that the barbarians lose 99% of the time to the ai when attacking.

    isnt that 100%?
     

Share This Page