1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Idea: Four Superpowers

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall MP' started by kairob, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    I've had an idea for a multiplayer game involving four large superpowers to see how it would pan out. I'm looking for volunteers to play, over the next few days, large contiguous empires (as opposed to maritime ones).

    The teams I thought most suitable would be France/Germany, Russia, Turkey and the USA, as these seem good for a large contiguous empire. Obviously, if someone wants to play as another CIV that they think would be better then that would be perfectly okay.

    I currently have a volunteer for the USA (killerkebab) and I will personally lead whichever team doesn't get picked. Although, I would rather not be the continental European team as I would be least good at that...

    So, if anyone fancies playing, feel free to make a post saying which CIV you would like to play as. I was thinking of starting early evening tomorrow (probably around 4PM GMT). Although later spawning CIVs may have to wait after that, everyone should join up to the hamachi network at that time so we know we can all connect.

    Thanks in response for any replies. :)
     
  2. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I could play either Russia or Germany. France would seem a rather bad choice for continental power, Germany can do much better stability-wise with conquering parts of Europe.
     
  3. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    Well, its about four, where is everyone?
     
  4. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I guess it was a too short notice, if last week you would have said "lets play tomorrow" I couldn't have the time to prepare for it, it was good that we prepared about 4 days early. So lets just for now wait until more people post that they want to join in on this MP game and only after that we'll each post the times we can play so we can choose the best time for it.
     
  5. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    All right well, I am free all times until Friday evening. Then free again on Sunday night.
     
  6. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    I'm free more or less any afternoon/evening.
     
  7. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    I would be interested in trying out an RFC MP game. Probably as Turkey.
     
  8. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    Seems we have 4 players, I'm available most of the day, so micbic if you are too I'd suggest we'll start tomorrow at say 5 PM GMT?
     
  9. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    OK. Well thats all four then!
    So here are the players:
    micbic - Turkey
    KillerKebab - USA
    BurnEmDown - Germany or Russia
    Kairob - Germany or Russia.

    So as I said I am available Monday to Thursday but not weekends.
    When is everyone else available?
    BirnEmDown, do you want Germany or Russia?

    EDIT: Crosspost with Burn

    I can't do tomorrow evening, but I can do Monday.
     
  10. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    Monday 5PM GMT it is then?
     
  11. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I think I'll take Russia :)
    Edit: I actually meant Sunday, but if anyone objects I have no problem waiting till Monday. Oh and KillerKebab I'm guessing you'll want to play a different civ until America spawns, If so I'd suggest Mali or Khmer or Vikings if you don't want to meddle too much with the world-wide power balance :p
     
  12. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    Ok so I'll be germany. :)

    Looking forward to the game. Micbic, I'll email you the details to the Hamachi Network. :)

    Micbic, if the others don't mind it might be useful for you to play as Arabia before switching to Turkey, as then we would have a player in from the 600ad start.

    Secondly Killerkebab, if you fancy playing another civ whilst waiting for america that would be fine but please do not play as a euro civ, as that would mess up my area of influence before I even started. (Like if I played as Aztec when your america)
     
  13. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    What about taking permanently Arabia and not switching to Turkey?
    And what is Hamachi Network? :confused: (edit: think i've got it)
     
  14. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    micbic that's fine by me but I really think Turkey is stronger than Arabia when looking at their potential. I Turkey as the potential to invade Germany and Russia, and Arabia has a much weaker potential doing so. If you'd like to play Arabia then there's no problem at all and you should start playing when you have some free time even before the designated time (the game will officially start when Germany spawns and kairob joins).
    And Hamachi is a program that links our computers together to make them "think" we are connected by LAN, that makes it easier to connect via IP and things like that.
     
  15. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    The problem in that case is that I may ''cheat'' in building the Arabia in a such way (ie troop empty), so Turkey exploits it and captures it.
    Re: Hamachi: Do I need download it?
     
  16. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    re: playing a civ before I join the Americans, is it still wrong to join a civ that typically builds cities in America, such as England? More often than not when I play USA in SP, the cities that flip to me on the east coast are awful :p

    I mean, I don't mind playing someone else entirely - hell I'll even wait until 1775 if you want :)
     
  17. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    micbic yes you have to download it, just google "hamachi" and you should find the main page with links to download.
    As for Arabia, if you guys think it'll be too much of a "giving yourself free gifts" I could play Japan instead, until Russia spawns. By then kairob will be in the game and we shall both play until the Turkish spawn
    micbic I'd suggest playing mali and killer maybe you could play the Inca. What do you guys say?
     
  18. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    I thought that letting you play as Arabia would let you chose better city placement for when you spawn as turkey instead of leaving it up to the AI.
     
  19. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    I am OK with that.
     
  20. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    The North
    Hey guys, where is everyone?
     

Share This Page