I'm new to being behind in Civ 3...help on bringing down Numero Uno

Flavor Dave

Warlord
The English have easily the most landmass. Unfortunately, I'm Greece. I have a fairly large border with England, and France has a small one, and Russia a medium one. Japan and China are in another hemisphere, and the Romans have long since been consigned to the dustbin of history.

I've been preparing to attack England for a long, long time. They just have too many cities. I've had MPPs with the French and Russians for a long time, around 30 turns. Unfortunately, ;) the English have attacked none of us.

Now with the Dam built, I would like to attack. I have a few tanks, and many more on the way. I have choke points set up, defended with multiple units in fortresses. I have allies. I have many cavalry and infantry. I have many cities with factories and barracks. It's time to cut the English down to size...and in a little added bonus, their city of Neapolis is just across the border, and has two saltpeter resources (I have neither saltpeter nor coal. Getting Neapolis will reduce to one the items I'm forced to trade for.)

The English have a man-o-war that has ended its turn in my waters for the 3rd straight turn. What's the best way to go to war?

1. Click on the man-o-war and declare war...I don't know how Civ 3 functions, but to me it's common sense that doing that would reduce if not eliminate my reputation hit. Elizabeth keeps SAYING she's gonna move out, but she doesn't.

2. Go to the diplomatic advisor and declare war from there.

3. Keep putting troops in English territory to goad them into declaring war.

Please advise...I'll be returning to the game tomorrow night.

Declare war from the foreign advisor screen so your rep doesn't take a hit. Also before you go to war, check your military advisor to see if they are way stronger than you. If you have a spy that helps even more.