I'm not very good at this.

WalterRaleigh

Chieftain
I got this game off Amazon last summer as part of a combo pack that also included CivIII and Colonization. I've played quite a bit, but still haven't quite gotten the hang of it yet. In fact, I've yet to beat the game on Noble (although I usually quit before the game actually ends). So I thought I'd start a new game and post it on here, and maybe get some feedback from you guys on how I can improve myself.

I used the settings that seem the most "realistic" to me:
Noble, RandomScriptMap, Huge, Marathon, 18 civs (all random, including myself), Ancient, Random Climate and Sea Level, City Flipping after Conquest, Require Complete Kills.

Here is my start. I am Suryavarman II of the Khmer Empire.

Civ4ScreenShot0000.JPG

(not sure why the image appears as a thumbnail and not full size, but you can click on it to see the full image)

Spoiler :
I moved my Scout over to the hut to see if there was anything useful in that direction (there wasn't), and decided to settle on the Corn tile where my Scout just came from. I don't like to spend time looking for a place to settle unless I have a very good reason to do so. Since my new city has Corn and Stone, I first research Agriculture, The Wheel, and Masonry (I started with Mining and Hunting). I also manage to get Mysticism from a tribal village.

Before long, I realize that I'm on a Pangaea map. I manage to explore a pretty good radius from my capital before my scout gets killed. My two nearest neighbors (as far as I can tell) are Louis XIV and Montezuma, but no one is really close by.

With my Stone resource, I built Stonehenge, The Great Wall, and The Pyramids. After that, I focused on producing Settlers to build new cities. Meanwhile, I researched Animal Husbandry, Bronze Working, and Iron Working. I was lucky enough to get a Horse and an Iron within the cultural borders of my capital.