I'm Taking for requests for models.

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
Guys sorry for my absence and lack of progress on your models.
I've been hard at work on a mt peaktu natural wonder model for a user. It has been a long endevure but I'm pretty much done with it and ready to get back to your requests here.
Some time this week I'll get back to these requests and start posting the models for you all sorry about the delay.
 

Matsuda123

Prince
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
489
I think we are all just thankful and happy that you are here. Don't worry too much about timeframe. :)
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
So I've made some of the models so far for the new Ancient Japanese Cityset. I wonder if i'm doing it correctly / in a way that will be easy for you to work with?

Here is what I have so far, and reference photos to help. If you wish to alter them in any way, that's just fine with me. More detail/accuracy or less is just fine, if you want to. :)

I'll look at them when I can get back to you, I'll private message you most likely.
I get it set up for ya and explain something's. We'll get it all worked out.
It might take a little testing.
Not every thing comes in great.

We got to get the size right and all so they don't overlap and look bad

Civ somewhat randomly places them in a way. Not that random but umm like semi random. So we have to account for that.
 

Matsuda123

Prince
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
489
I'll look at them when I can get back to you, I'll private message you most likely.
I get it set up for ya and explain something's. We'll get it all worked out.
It might take a little testing.
Not every thing comes in great.

We got to get the size right and all so they don't overlap and look bad

Civ somewhat randomly places them in a way. Not that random but umm like semi random. So we have to account for that.

Alright, that sounds good to me. I will continue to make models for the set, see what I can do so far.
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
siheyuan neighborhood

and

chinampas

for the chinampas the chilis and squash are now there on the plants.
its hard to tell unless you zoom in really close.

you can see them on the dds/texture files. but sadly in game the plants are to small to really tell what is on them.
 

Attachments

  • siheyuan_neighborhood.zip
    508.7 KB · Views: 3
  • Chinampas.7z
    2.1 MB · Views: 5

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
here is the totora isle requested by Poukai

its a little small. i can make it larger if needed.
i might have to remove an island or 2.


20220914021633_1.jpg
20220914022234_1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • totora isle.7z
    1 MB · Views: 0

pineappledan

Deity
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
7,349
Location
Alberta, Canada
Siheyuan neighborhood, Kraal and Chinampa reuploaded with icons

Kraal uses the Cow model in the icon

Thanks again @ghost toast !
 

Attachments

  • siheyuan_neighborhood.zip
    717.1 KB · Views: 1
  • Kraal Cow Horse.zip
    16.5 MB · Views: 1
  • Chinampa.zip
    5.5 MB · Views: 2

Pouakai

It belongs in a museum.
Moderator
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
7,176
Location
Aotearoa
here is the totora isle requested by Poukai

its a little small. i can make it larger if needed.
i might have to remove an island or 2.


View attachment 639315View attachment 639316
Thanks for this, sorry for the delay in getting back to you! Looking good so far, though I agree the stuff is all a bit small. Maybe if possible, could we bump the size up a bit, especially on the canoes and huts? If you look at pictures of the isles, they generally look a bit more dense and have some actual reed plants around the place, which would probably be a good inclusion as well. As you said, this would probably involve dropping the number of islands down a couple but I think we can probably keep the models and have them both individually to keep some variation in them?

It might also be good if possible to make the islands a bit thinner - they're just floating reeds, but the current model looks a bit thick for that.

Hope this all makes sense, let me know if not and I can try and explain a bit more
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
Ok so you want the reeds to float not to go all the way down.
And take each island and make it island 1, 2, and 3?
Would be pretty cool.

You can write up and lua or so 1 and 1 can't be adjacent 2 and 2 can't be abjacent and 3 and 3 can't be adjacent.
For a reference to do so you can look into the mod forts and kabash can't be adjacent.
I'm just spitballing ideas for in game use to force the variation.

I do have some reed like plants in there but they are hard to see and they could be more numerous. Making the models larger might fix that so you can tell it's reeds sticking up. As is you can only really see the bottom thicker grass parts
 
Last edited:

CyprusTree123

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 8, 2022
Messages
27
Hi ghost toast I am in need of a city set and I am told you are one of the best in business. I was wondering if could make a city set for the Minoans. They were a bronze age civ that was on crete. This is one of my first projects so I use the wrong terminology my apologies. If you could do this would be much appreciated, thanks!

great_palace01.jpg
minoan-architecture.jpg
images.jpg
main-qimg-41554bc2d3385a27c4eda6125a527983-lq.jpg
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
I can't add cultural art styles to the game yet but we can replace an existing one.
So you will have to decide what culture type you want replaced.

I can see what I can do about the models. They look pretty cool.

There is probably some good civ 4 stuff I can start with. Looks like the theme is square with columns for the architecture

What color should I do the stuff.
I can do some yellow some black and some red like the pictures.
We can do them all the same colors.
What ever you want.
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
Hi ghost toast I am in need of a city set and I am told you are one of the best in business. I was wondering if could make a city set for the Minoans. They were a bronze age civ that was on crete. This is one of my first projects so I use the wrong terminology my apologies. If you could do this would be much appreciated, thanks!

View attachment 640019 View attachment 640020View attachment 640021View attachment 640023
Sorry I forgot to quote you in the above message so you get the notification.
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
If you know the coding to implement city sets with out the core over ride method and through the mods directory I would be very interested. I have yet to figure it out myself.

I will get to work on your models when I can. Can't wait to start working with you.
 

tantanmen

Warlord
Joined
Sep 25, 2019
Messages
252
There is probably some good civ 4 stuff I can start with.
Hi ghost toast! I'm loving your creations :love:

I'd also really like to see some Minoan buildings please. I've converted some Mycenaean buildings from Humankind that you might be able to use for Minoan architecture. If they're of any use, please feel free to chop them up and retexture them :thumbsup: In addition to civ5, I play a lot of civ4, so I included zips of both blend and nif files.

I also found a couple links you and @CyprusTree123 might like :)

Thank you very much ghost toast~!! :king: :goodjob:



Mycenae Palace District.png
 

Attachments

  • Mycenae Emblematic 02.png
    Mycenae Emblematic 02.png
    727.1 KB · Views: 4
  • Mycenae Emblematic 01.png
    Mycenae Emblematic 01.png
    641.1 KB · Views: 3
  • Project Minoa.7z
    7.2 MB · Views: 4

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
Hi ghost toast! I'm loving your creations :love:

I'd also really like to see some Minoan buildings please. I've converted some Mycenaean buildings from Humankind that you might be able to use for Minoan architecture. If they're of any use, please feel free to chop them up and retexture them :thumbsup: In addition to civ5, I play a lot of civ4, so I included zips of both blend and nif files.

I also found a couple links you and @CyprusTree123 might like :)

Thank you very much ghost toast~!! :king: :goodjob:



View attachment 640036

So is the one dds for all the building files you have.
Or do most things need one created?
I'm looking at it on my phone not my PC right now sorry.
I can't look at the models right now but I can see the file names. And the pictures.
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
Hi ghost toast! I'm loving your creations :love:

I'd also really like to see some Minoan buildings please. I've converted some Mycenaean buildings from Humankind that you might be able to use for Minoan architecture. If they're of any use, please feel free to chop them up and retexture them :thumbsup: In addition to civ5, I play a lot of civ4, so I included zips of both blend and nif files.

I also found a couple links you and @CyprusTree123 might like :)

Thank you very much ghost toast~!! :king: :goodjob:



View attachment 640036

Wow A++ on the website links very informative. Good sites are hard to come by and those are some of the best I have seen. Lots of information and details.
 

ghost toast

Warlord
Joined
Apr 29, 2022
Messages
249
for future reference this is the civ 5 city coding.
figured i would put it on here.

file name "civ5artdefines_citybuildings"

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<BuildingArtInfos>

  <!-- AMERICA *********************************************************** -->
  <Culture name="America">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Amer_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Amer_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Amer_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Amer_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>

  <!-- ASIA ************************************************************** -->
  <Culture name="Asia">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Asia_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Asia_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Asia_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Asia_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>

  <!-- AFRICA ************************************************************ -->
  <Culture name="Africa">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Afri_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Afri_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Afri_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Afri_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>
 
  <!-- EUROPE ************************************************************ -->
  <Culture name="Europe">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Euro_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Euro_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Euro_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Euro_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>

  <!-- EUROPE ************************************************************ -->
  <Culture name="Mediterranean">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Medit_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Medit_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Medit_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Medit_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>

  <!-- Ruins ************************************************************ -->
  <Culture name="Ruins">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>City_Ruins.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>City_Ruins.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>City_Ruins.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>City_Ruins.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>
 
</BuildingArtInfos>


and the poly set coding

file name

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<BuildingArtInfos>

  <!-- Polynesian ************************************************************ -->
  <Culture name="Polynesian" lighting="Asia">
    <Era name="Ancient">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Poly_Anc_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Rennaisance">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Poly_Ren_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Industrial">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Poly_Ind_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
    <Era name="Modern">
      <PopulationBuildings>
        <Granny>Poly_Mod_City.gr2</Granny>
      </PopulationBuildings>
    </Era>
  </Culture>
 
</BuildingArtInfos>

changing and adding to this is not enough.
their is 2 more files, at least 1 more that make up the actual defines for the cultures.
overriding the gr2 by adding a new gr2 to the core game files is an easy way around that. but with out being able to add more cultures. i can only replace city sets for now.


as for how the city set links to the city get gr2 file. it is in the file named "CIV5Civilizations"
and looks like this

Code:
<Civilizations>
        <Row>
            <ID>0</ID>
            <Type>CIVILIZATION_AMERICA</Type>
            <Description>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_DESC</Description>
            <ShortDescription>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_SHORT_DESC</ShortDescription>
            <Adjective>TXT_KEY_CIV_AMERICA_ADJECTIVE</Adjective>
            <CivilopediaTag>TXT_KEY_CIV5_UNITEDSTATES</CivilopediaTag>
            <DefaultPlayerColor>PLAYERCOLOR_AMERICA</DefaultPlayerColor>
            <ArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_CIVILIZATION_AMERICA</ArtDefineTag>
            <ArtStyleType>ARTSTYLE_EUROPEAN</ArtStyleType>
            <PortraitIndex>0</PortraitIndex>
            <IconAtlas>CIV_COLOR_ATLAS</IconAtlas>
            <AlphaIconAtlas>CIV_ALPHA_ATLAS</AlphaIconAtlas>
            <MapImage>MapAmerica512.dds</MapImage>
            <ArtStyleSuffix>_EURO</ArtStyleSuffix>
            <ArtStylePrefix>EUROPEAN </ArtStylePrefix>
            <DawnOfManQuote>TXT_KEY_CIV5_DAWN_UNITEDSTATES_TEXT</DawnOfManQuote>
            <DawnOfManImage>DOM_Washington.dds</DawnOfManImage>
            <DawnOfManAudio>AS2D_DOM_SPEECH_UNITED_STATES</DawnOfManAudio>
        </Row>
</Civilizations>

the line "<ArtStyleType>ARTSTYLE_EUROPEAN</ArtStyleType>" corresponds to the city set im not sure what else. so that is why adding to it is not enough you need to find the art style defines.

how ever you should be able to fill in the gaps and use the eras that are missing and default to its last set era. like ancient then no classical and no medieval so they use the ancient set. we could possibly change that and add more eras there i don't see why not.

the line "<ArtStyleSuffix>_EURO</ArtStyleSuffix>" i believe is used for units somehow.
the line <ArtStylePrefix>EUROPEAN </ArtStylePrefix> is used for cultural variant buildings

if any one does know how to implement city sets via the mod menu inform me how to.
i only know to do it by over riding the game files. either as a "loose" file or writing it up as a dlc pack either way it over rides the core game files.

im still testing out all this myself you all may know a lot more then me.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom