1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Images of all the Earth Maps

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by nvalzxi87, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. nvalzxi87

    nvalzxi87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    19
  2. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    Am I the only one who thinks that despite those awesome hexes, Earth map looked much much better in civ4?
     
  3. MeteorPunch

    MeteorPunch #WINNING Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    TN-USA
    Either that or the maps are badly done. With larger map sizes though, things could look a lot better.
     
  4. JoxerNL

    JoxerNL Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Looking at it, it feels as if the creator didnt pay enough attention to Europe etc, America looks pretty spot-on.

    Europe looks like a disaster, i mean look at italy and spain on the map.
     
  5. dannythefool

    dannythefool King

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    I think the small one-tile islands look much less like squares now. :p
     
  6. Baleur

    Baleur Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Australia looks squashed too, and Sweden looks cut-off at the bottom, idk why they just didnt move scandinavia 1-2 hexes further north (plenty of space up there) and properly taper it off down south.
     
  7. gunburned

    gunburned Warlord

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Need a bigger map IMO get get it most accurate.
    Anyone else think soo also?
     
  8. Narn

    Narn Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    why on the large map is england connected to europe? even on the smaller maps it isnt
     
  9. PawelS

    PawelS Ancient Druid

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,803
    Location:
    Poland
    The smaller maps looks like mechanically resized version of the Huge one, that's why things like connections between islands and continents vary from map to map. I hope the community will create better ones.
     
  10. Becephalus

    Becephalus King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    As a serious map developer on a variety of projects I can tell you that making such maps is not easy. Especially if like these you try to represent everything. Europe looks really screwed up because Europe is very small. It just doesn't deserve many tiles. You need to decide between preserving shape, area, gameplay, relational positioning etc.

    Personally I feel you are way better off just cutting out the arctic areas (like they did in the south but not the north).
     
  11. Drewcifer

    Drewcifer Agent of Karma

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,745
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Yeah, I made some real world maps for Civ III and they were incredibly time consuming. I did a huge map of Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia and the south Pacific that took about 300 hours.
     
  12. dpaajones

    dpaajones Old England Forever

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Why is Great Britain not an island in the large version?
     
  13. shenryyr

    shenryyr serval

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    San Francisco
  14. MAHRana

    MAHRana Prince

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Looks good apart from Europe
     
  15. dpaajones

    dpaajones Old England Forever

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
  16. Esckey

    Esckey Deity

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,321
    Location:
    Canada
    Why does Canada always consist of 98% tundra?

    And yes I agree, these maps look worse then the Civ4 maps. I think its cause they wanted to include as much as possible(IE every single little island chain)
     
  17. Horserush

    Horserush Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Earth large map does not have the Great Barrier Reef ... wth!!!
     
  18. shenryyr

    shenryyr serval

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    San Francisco
    its the only explanation i could think of
     
  19. dannythefool

    dannythefool King

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    Maybe they just imported the Civ IV map in WB (it can do that) and then created the smaller maps by scaling it down (it can certainly do that too)... the shape of Britain is a dead giveaway.
     
  20. BothofUs

    BothofUs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    looking at this topic later
     

Share This Page