Immortal Portugal Photojournal (of an amateur)

amateurgamer88

Emperor
Hi everyone! I'm amateurgamer88. I have recently started immortal and my first two games have been horrible. My last game as Mongolia, as shown in my photojournal, has progressed well (no details so that will spoil it). As the title suggests, I am going to play as Portugal. Do note that this is my first time playing this civ on VP so it should be interesting.

I know I'm not a great player so I appreciate any advice as I want to learn more. I have many areas lacking so feel free to point them out to me. I like to improve more as I actually want to eventually play and win some deity matches. As a result, I'm doing these photojournals so people can see what I'm doing wrong and give me constructive criticism.

An additional note is that, due to various reasons, I have to play this game windowed so, in later eras, you'll see the various things like gold, resources and etc overlapping. I also have to lower my graphic setting so my game can run smoother. I apologize for that but it's the limitations I work with.

Spoiler Game Settings :
Immortal (7) Difficulty
Marathon Speed
Large Size, 10 civs, 20 city states
Continents
Strategic Balance
No events, vassalage, ancient ruins, tech brokering and tech trading

The Patch used in this game is 10-10. It should be with hotfix unless I messed this up terribly.

Normally, I stick with Pangaea but, for this game, I'm going continents since it utilizes Portugal's UU.

Spoiler Initial Thoughts on the Civilization :
Mare Clausum:
Science, Gold and either GA/GG points for cargo ships/caravans definitely put an emphasis on trade route. I have, as some of you noticed, neglected to use all of my trade routes in some of my past games. I feel like this is certainly one of those games where I must fully utilize the trade units to my best ability. We will have to see how the game develops depending on my neighbors and how the other continent develops.

Feitoria: