Import gr2 skeleton

Nefliqus

Prince
i looked into this breifly with max 2008, but I could not import a gr2.....could be either i did not pay enough attention to what i was doing...i am not experienced with 3dmax..

has anyone had success with this method????

Did you try doing it with a regular firaxis gr2 or did you use a modified one by using granny hacker?

If a program still exists that allows me to import and export this games gr2 files into and out of 3ds Max, where can I find it? The site listed is dead, my browser won't allow me to reach it. I Explorer will allow you to go there at your own risk, but altervista has destroyed all the links to downloads...

They are very particular about people using their proprietary software, it seems.

What is the current method for accessing and altering these files?

VR
Doc

right now we convert a gr2 using granny materialhackerV2. that creates a new gr2. then we view that gr2 in grannyviwere and then copy using 3D printscreen. that makes a 3dxml which we import into blender. That is just the mesh so you have to use (or create) a template that danrell made to rig a mesh to a skeleton. export as an fbx. then use the indiestone nexus buddy to convert that into a gr2.

Not as fun as it sounds ;)

There is a way to get civ 5 skeletons and meshes into blender by converting to smd then to milkshape 3d txt file. I have poor blender skills though (I only know the stuff that berine14 and Deliverator put in their tutorials) and I can not get the mesh to stick to the skeleton so when I export to *.FBX it crashes indiestone nexus buddy. This is how the exported .FBX looks like in milkshpae 3d. I would appreciate if any blender experts could give me a tip as to where I am going wrong.

Attachments

• Gunship.png
    Gunship.png
    9.7 KB · Views: 479
Thanks Ekmek, attatched is the files for the gunship.