1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

IMPORTANT: Playing Vanilla and Warlords on Windows 10

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Game of the Month' started by DynamicSpirit, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. DynamicSpirit

    DynamicSpirit Fear him of the pink tie Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,094
    Location:
    London, UK
    Just to make sure everyone is aware....

    Several people have upgraded to Windows 10 and found they are no longer able to play Vanilla or Warlords Civ4. Deckhand has uncovered this link which explains the problem in detail. However the crux of it is that people have found that Windows 10 is unable to read many copy-protected dvd's to verify they are genuine. This screws up Civ4 vanilla and Warlords, which use copy-protected discs (as well as a lot of other old games). BtS is not affected because it runs without checking that you have an original dvd in the drive. I haven't heard anything about Steam, but I'm guessing Steam users might not be affected by this problem if your Civ is downloaded from Steam and doesn't rely on a dvd.

    This is not a problem that's within our ability to fix. So it looks like, until either Microsoft fix the problem, or someone comes up with a workaround, Windows 10 users will be unable to play vanilla or Warlords GOTMs (or for that matter, any vanilla or Warlords Civ games - with the possible exception of Steam users).

    So the message obviously is - if you want to continue playing all GOTMs, you'll need to avoid upgrading to Windows 10. Or keep at least one computer that's running an earlier version of Windows.
     
  2. DynamicSpirit

    DynamicSpirit Fear him of the pink tie Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,094
    Location:
    London, UK
    A workaround for this so that you can play vanilla and warlords Civ has apparently been found. I haven't been able to test it myself because I don't have Windows 10. I will warn you that the stuff you have to do is probably only for the technically-minded, but here goes. As posted to answers.microsoft.com and then reposted to Civfanatics.


    Link to the full explanation (where I got the quote from).

    Link to civfanatics discussion (Post #66 in the thread is where the workaround is pointed out)

    If anyone here does try it and gets it to work, let us know!
     
  3. Folket

    Folket Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,568
    Location:
    Sweden
    Could you change the thread name? I did not read this as the topic told me all I needed to know.

    Perhaps something like "Vanilla and Warlords on Windows 10 solution"
     
  4. DynamicSpirit

    DynamicSpirit Fear him of the pink tie Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,094
    Location:
    London, UK
    Excellent point, thanks. I've changed thread title.
     
  5. Frederiksberg

    Frederiksberg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,806
    Location:
    Denmark, GMT+1
    If you are still using Windows 7 or 8 this simpler workaround will do.
     
  6. neilmeister

    neilmeister Lentils have feelings too GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,353
    Location:
    Australia
    I had a red hot go at this.... couldn't make it work. I did everything that was suggested, including making and signing my own certs, but to no avail.

    Now.... to slink off to Steam or not, that is the question.
     
  7. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,759
    Make sure you run Windows Update and then do the compatibility thing again..to Win 7
     
  8. neilmeister

    neilmeister Lentils have feelings too GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,353
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi All, I have managed to get them Steam versions under Windows 10 to work for HoF and xOTM games.

    I don't really want to plug Steam, but CiV4 complete (includes Vanilla, Warlords, BtS & Colonization) is only $7 right now.


    These are the steps I followed:
    - install the games from disc as normal, fully patched and install all HoF mods.
    - install from steam the BETA of each of Vanilla & Warlords. On the Steam library you can right click on a game, select 'Properties' and then choose the original game from the BETAS tab.
    - go to where the steam.exe is located and change its properties to 'run as admin'. This will make steam display a warning screen when you next run it, but ignore it

    For Vanilla:
    - go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV
    - select ALL folders and delete them
    - copy ALL folders (except 'Warlords' and 'Beyond the Sword') from C:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete (or wherever you installed the game from disc) and paste them into the steam directory above.
    - modify the appropriate CivilizationIV.ini file to directly set the mod to be "Mod = Mods\HOF-1.74.004" (this file will be in your \My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV folder)

    For Warlords:
    - go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Warlords
    - select ALL folders (except for 'Warlords') and delete them
    - copy ALL folders (except 'Warlords' and 'Beyond the Sword') from C:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete (or wherever you installed the game from disc) and paste them into the steam directory above.
    - go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Warlords\Warlords
    - select ALL folders and delete them
    - copy ALL folders from C:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete\Warlords (or wherever you installed the game from disc) and paste them in the steam directory above.
    - modify the appropriate CivilizationIV.ini file to directly set the mod to be "Mod = Mods\HOF-2.13.004" (this file will be in your \My Documents\My Games\Warlords folder)

    Please note:
    - you will need to restart steam to get it to use the 'Run as admin', to do this you might need to kill it in Task manager or simply reboot the pc
    - you cannot just double click on a GOTM saved-game anymore.... you need to start the app (use the shortcut on the desktop) then load the game. (if I care enough to look and get this to work, I will update this thread)
    - I have not checked if other Steam games have an issue with the 'Run as admin' setting.


    edit: I first got Warlords running (so I could play the WOTM) by trying a lot of different things, after that to get Vanilla working I just did the same thing though I am not sure it was completely necessary.
     
  9. Deckhand

    Deckhand Not so nice GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,670
    Location:
    California
    The big issue with win10 (and now 8) is that it won't read the disks. So, I don't know how to "install as normal". [Or is issue that you can install but not play?]
    However, if you already had the game files installed before going to win10 - you can copy those files. In my case, I have a backup copy of my old desktop before getting the win10 laptop.
    Here's my status of following neilmeister's advice for vanilla:
    Spoiler :

    For Vanilla:
    - go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV
    - select ALL folders and delete them - Done
    - copy ALL folders (except 'Warlords' and 'Beyond the Sword') from C:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete (or wherever you installed the game from disc) and paste them into the steam directory above. - also pasted in the Warlords & BtS folders; then deleted them
    maybe this is some of reason why I had problem described below

    - modify the appropriate CivilizationIV.ini file to directly set the mod to be "Mod = Mods\HOF-1.74.004" (this file will be in your \My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV folder) - done, but...

    Start Civ4 in Steam
    Nothing happens
    Steam, Properties, Local Files - Verify Integrity of Game Cache - 49 files updated
    Game does not recognize the mod when starting, but I can select it from Advanced


    Success, I'm able to play Vanilla HoF Mod and GOTM
    And Alt-Tab works!
    :goodjob:

    edit, update
    - bts doesn't work anymore
    - the gotm124 that I made was missing a dll file, so Alan had to fix; replaced my dll file and can load the game; so I think vanilla HoF is working
     

Share This Page