1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Improved Military Engineer 1.3

This mod improves the utility and usability of the Military Engineer

  1. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
    This simple mod improves the usability of the Military Engineer.

    Current Version: 1.3

    Military Engineer changes:
    • Reduced cost
    • Base charges increased to 3
    • Building the Alhambra gives all Military Engineers +1 charge (for a total of 4)
    • Added the Army Engineer Corps military policy which gives Military Engineers +2 build charges, unlocks at Civil Engineering
    • Military Engineers now allow units in formation with them to scale cliffs.
    Installation
    To install extract the contents of the zip file to Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Mods.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
    Littlebob86 likes this.
  2. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
  3. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
  4. Kabba QuzAi

    Kabba QuzAi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Finally making this a at least usable unit.

    I've only ever made one of these engineers during my 100+ hrs of Civ6.
    It's completely useless at vanilla game! When I saw it cost him one charge to make a single road I never bothered creating another one!

    Thanks for that mate!
     
  5. Azmodanrom

    Azmodanrom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Strana Mechty
    can you make the "build road" option not consume any charges?
     
  6. Levy

    Levy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    "can you make the "build road" option not consume any charges?"

    this!

    Even with more charges it's a pretty useless unit except for the special improvements later in the game. The the other stuff like the runway of course need charges. And there is 2 charges enough, i think.
     
  7. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    This was my very first idea for improving this marginal unit.
     
  8. Littlebob86

    Littlebob86 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    329
    You can edit it yourself now , just give him a tonne of charges
     
  9. Azmodanrom

    Azmodanrom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Strana Mechty
    well..no. the engineer should only build 2 forts/airstrips...but a road is NOT 2 hexes of road.
    until firaxis makes a "road to" tool like the workers in civ5 had... the quick fix is to make ONLY roads consume no charges
     
  10. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
    So I've been checking around to see if there's a way to remove the build cost for roads and I cannot seem to find it...nothing in Routes.xml allows for changing how many charges it takes to build a road (nothing in Improvements.xml either). I'll keep poking around but the possibility always exists that something is hardcoded...hopefully I'm wrong though!
     
  11. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
    This mod is now included in my Omnibus mod! I will continue to support this mod individually as well, and changes in the individual mod may impact the Omnibus and vice versa.
     
  12. Atlas627

    Atlas627 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,570
    While you're poking around with routes, if you happen to find a way to let other things act as though they had a route attached (like the Great Wall, for instance), please let me know. I couldn't find anything either =(
     
  13. Saldrin

    Saldrin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Suggestion: add the ability to clear a forest/jungle to the engineer so they can build a fort in that hex.

    Or make it a modern era ability, or new unit all together, called "path finder" that can make an LZ/FOB
     
  14. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
  15. Golan v

    Golan v Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Israel
    I wish u could add an ability to Military Engineer- able to build a watch tower with extra visibility ++ for each era :)
     
  16. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,942
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    does this mod need to be edited in order to be compatible with MOAR units? I'm asking this because I see the enable_climb_cliffs ability specifies some classes like garde, hoplite and samurai which I would expect to be already included in the melee class
     
  17. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
    AFAIK it shouldn't need to be edited as long as MOAR UNITS adds the new units into the general classes.
     
    [to_xp]Gekko likes this.
  18. thecrazyscot

    thecrazyscot Spiffy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,829
    I have updated this and combined it with my Improved Forts mod, and it is now available on the Steam Workshop.

    This mod is now deprecated, and the combined mods will be supported in this thread.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
    JimmyJump likes this.

Share This Page