1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Improving tiles

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by Panda_Power, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. Panda_Power

    Panda_Power Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    Hello all,

    Just started playing this great mod and looking for a bit of help. I can see that construction ships can improve tiles, but there don't seem to be any tiles to improve! I guess I'm so used to the ordinary Civ 4 game where every tile can be improved in some way, but in space are the tiles that have resources on them the only tiles that can be improved or what else can I do with the construction ships?

    Thanks!
     
  2. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Construction ships can build starbases and sensor posts most anywhere. Starbases extend your borders around the base (so you can improve the resources) and function as a stationary military unit. Sensor posts are like starbases but have no culture or strength but can detect cloaked ships on surrounding plots. The Vaadwaur and Borg can also build "roads" and everyone can build "railroads" with transwarp corridors.
     
  3. Marla McGivers

    Marla McGivers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    I sympathise Panda! It is odd to begin with but as you get into playing it you will get used to not having to improve all the tiles!!

    I did think that maybe things like particle collectors might have been a good idea, but you can still build extraction facilities in the asteroid belts to mine such stuff as Dilithium, Hydrogen, Oxygen etc...

    Marla x
     
  4. Agamemnus

    Agamemnus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Massachusetts, New England, USA
    What is the technology to build them?

    Aside:
    I find this mod very much lacking. It doesn't help that I found at least 5 spelling errors, the worst being "Independant" sips.

    I have been playing on Emperor and it is impossible to get the population growth that the AI gets. I got an enormous early advantage by finding many goody huts and easily taking out two AIs. I am falling behind and I still can't build roads after finishing 40% of the tech tree.

    The quotation sound clips are very well done, though.
     
  5. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Extraction facilities can be built at any time (I believe), but you need to build a starbase to spread your culture over the tiles to allow the construction of improvements. Additionally, you'll need Cargo Holds to activate the trading (trading is treated like sea resources in BtS).

    Looks like nobody caught the spelling errors. I don't have a program that can edit XML files and do spell checking, so if nobody catches/reports them they don't get fixed.

    You might want to check your cities... the governor might not be working planets that give a lot of food. Choice of civ affects things too. Vidiia in particular is hampered in the early game.
     
  6. Agamemnus

    Agamemnus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Massachusetts, New England, USA
    I don't know where the files are... I tried searching for "independant" with no luck. I use Notepad++. It has a decently fast "Find" and "Find and Replace" across files/directories simultaneously.

    I guess maybe I should try a much lower difficulty level. The gameplay seems very slow on Emperor, for instance. Without early roads (if there are actually railroads as you say?), it's all really slow.

    I don't see any % production or food bonus buildings either, making it hard to build decently-sized buildings.
     
  7. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    No spell checker though, which doesn't help with words that I can't ever remember how to spell. It's probably in XML\Text\Civilizations.xml or one of the FinalFrontier xml files.

    Given that Cargo Holds comes early in the tech tree, and the faster movement rates of units over BtS, I don't think it's that slow. You don't acatually want too many food bonus buildings either; once you get more population that space on planets, new pop points are virtually useless; the only specialists are the citizen, free ones from buildings, and great people. Mining facilities can become very powerful at this stage (since they can be built on every planet).
     
  8. jose1357

    jose1357 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Well the lag's probably from the AI spamming units, but you can build the nutrition, mining facilities on other planets and that's how I expand past 15 citizens/system at least on Commander difficulty...
     

Share This Page